Regional and National Awards Scheme banner

The Health and Social Care Awards are run at both a regional and national level.  This gives the greatest opportunity for applicants to showcase their work and gain recognition for their achievements. 

Regional level
There is a Regional Awards Scheme for each of the 10 Strategic Health Authority regions within England.  Each is run in partnership between the National Health and Social Care Awards team and the regional teams, consisting of members from the relevant Strategic Health Authority and the Social Care, Local Government and Care Partnership.

The Regional Awards will include 13 of the 14 national award categories (the NHS Live category is applicable at national level only).  In some cases, regional-specific categories will be added to ensure that local priority areas are also included.

Applications for the National Health and Social Care Awards can ONLY be made via the Regional level.  

All submitted applications will be carefully reviewed and considered against the set criteria.  Regional judging will be undertaken by regional teams of assessors who are experts in the field of quality, improvement and innovation.

All of the Regional Awards Ceremonies will be held locally in May 2009.  

The winning applications from each national category in all 10 regions will be automatically considered for the National Awards.  Winners of the regional-specific categories are not eligible for the National Awards.

National level
The Regional Winners will undergo a rigorous judging process by a National Panel of experts in the fields of quality, improvement and innovation, headed by David Nicholson, NHS Chief Executive.

The Panel will select 2 National Finalists and a National Winner for each of the 14 award categories.

The judging will culminate in a high profile National Awards Ceremony for all National Finalists in London in July 2009.

National Award Ceremony
The National Award Ceremony will be a high profile event, with national coverage, hosted by the Secretary of State. The Ceremony will provide a superb showcase for the best examples of excellence and innovation in health and social care and a platform for sharing ideas to the wider benefit of patients, service users and staff.

Are you eligible?
Past Ceremony Photos