Wednesday 25 June 2003

Privy Council Appointments

25 June 2003

The Queen has been pleased to approve that Brian Wilson MP, Margaret Hodge MP, Keith Hill MP, Jean Corston MP and Thomas McAvoy MP be sworn of Her Majesty’s most honourable Privy Council.

Note for Editors

Brian David Henderson Wilson: Member of Parliament for Cunninghame North since 1987. Former Minister of State at the Department of Trade and Industry, 2001-3. Opposition front bench spokesperson on Scottish affairs, 1988-92, on transport, 1992-94 and 1995-96, on trade and industry, 1994-95, on election planning, 1996-97; Minister of State: Scottish Office, 1997-98 and 1999-2001; (Minister of Trade), DTI, 1998-99; FCO, Jan-June 2001.

Margaret Eve Hodge MBE: Member of Parliament for Barking since 1994. Minister for Children, Department for Education and Skill, 2003-. Chair: London Group of Labour MPs, 1996-98; Education Select Committee, House of Commons, 1997-98. Parliamentary Under-Sec of State, DfEE, 1998-2001. Minister of State, Department for Education and Skills, 2001-3.

(Trevor) Keith Hill: Member of Parliament for Streatham since 1992. Minister of State, Office of the Deputy Prime Minister, 2003-. An Assistant Government Whip, 1998-99; Parliamentary Under-Sec of State, DETR, 1999-2001. Treasurer of HM Household (Deputy Chief Whip) 2001-3.

Jean Ann Corston: Member of Parliament for Bristol East since 1992. Chairman, Parliamentary Labour Party, 2001-. Parliamentary Private Secretary to the Secretary of State for Education and Employment, 1997-2001. Chairman, Joint Committee on Human Rights, 2001-; PLP Civil Liberties Group, 1997-.

Thomas McLaughlin McAvoy: Member of Parliament for Glasgow, Rutherglen since 1987. An Opposition Whip, 1990-93. Comptroller of HM Household since 1997.


Around the Web

Flickr Logo Flickr RSS Feed

History and Tour