Monday 4 November 2002

PM’s office

10 Downing Street Downing Street and Number 10 are commonly used terms for the Prime Minister’s Office.

The office is staffed by civil servants and special advisers who support the Prime Minister and ensure he can carry out his wide range of functions, from international diplomacy to policy-making.

Most staff are based inside the offices of 10 Downing Street.

Who’s who in the Prime Minister’s Office

Jeremy Heywood is Permanent Secretary, No10 Downing Street.

Stephen Carter* is Chief of Strategy and Principal Adviser.

Michael Ellam is Director of Communications and the Prime Minister’s Spokesman.

Gavin Kelly* is Deputy Chief of Staff.

David Muir* is Director of Political Strategy.

Sue Nye* is Director of Government Relations.

Dan Corry* is Head of Policy Unit.

Damian McBride* is adviser to the Prime Minister on political press issues.

Jon Cunliffe is Head of International Economic Affairs, Europe and G8 Sherpa.

Simon McDonald is Head of Foreign and Defence Policy.

Robert Hannigan is Head of Security Policy

* = Special Adviser.

Other sections you may find useful


Around the Web

Flickr Logo Flickr RSS Feed

History and Tour