Cabinet Office Homepage

Cabinet Office website

Main navigation

The Security Commission

The Security Commission was established in 1964 with the following terms of reference as announced on 23 January 1964 by the Prime Minister (Sir Alec Douglas-Home):

"If so requested by the Prime Minister to investigate and report upon the circumstances in which a breach of security is known to have occurred in the public service, and upon any related failure of departmental security arrangements or neglect of duty; and, in the light of any such investigation, to advise whether any change in security arrangements is necessary or desirable." (Hansard cols 1271-3).

A statement by the Prime Minister (Mr Wilson) on 10 May 1965 widened the terms of reference to cover circumstances where there might be reason to think that a breach of security had occurred.

The members of the Security Commission are currently;

The members form a panel from which three or four, including the Chairman, are normally selected on each occasion when the Commission is invited by the Prime Minister to investigate a suspected breach of security.