The UK honours system rewards people for merit, service or bravery.

An honour, decoration or medal is a public way of illustrating that the recipient has done something worthy of recognition. A complete list of approximately 1350 names is published twice a year, at New Year and on the date of the official birthday of HM The Queen.

These awards are made up of the Prime Minister's list (normally for those active in the UK), the Diplomatic Service and Overseas List (for members of the Foreign and Commonwealth Office and British citizens working in an overseas capacity), and the Defence Services List (for members of the Armed Forces).

Recipients of honours receive their awards from The Queen or The Prince of Wales at a ceremony known as an Investiture.

Honorary awards are occasionally granted to people from other countries who have made a significant contribution to relations between the United Kingdom and their own country. These awards are granted on the advice of the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs and are presented overseas by the British Ambassador or High Commissioner or in the UK by a Minister of the Crown.

Honorary award recipients

Details of the recipients of the Queens honorary British awards.

Useful Links

Royal website



Working for the FCO

Working for the FCO

work for us