Honours System

UK Honours system Logo

Main navigation

Recognising exceptional achievement or service

The UK Honours System

New Year Honours List 2008

The New Year Honours List for 2008 has now been released. This is the first Honours List recommended by Prime Minister Gordon Brown and its aim is to reflect and pay tribute to outstanding achievement and service across the entire community.

Get Involved! The Honours Process Explained…

Do you know someone who has done something exceptional, consistently made a difference or simply been a good neighbour? Nominating someone for an honour needn't be complicated!

Miriam Parker MBE with some sheep

Miriam Parker, MBE for contributions
to the farming industry

The honours system recognises merit and service to the nation. There are several different types of award, each one recognising a different type of contribution.

Honours lists are published twice a year at New Year and in mid-June on the date of The Queen's official birthday. Anyone can receive an award if they reach the required standard of merit or service, and honours list contain a wide variety of people from different backgrounds.

Queens Birthday Honours List 2007: The list reflects and pays tribute to outstanding achievement and service right across the community and the nation as a whole.

Education Honours Committee (August 2007). - new members have been appointed to this committee.

Honours and Peerages should not be confused: A note on the difference between honours and peerages, and the process for removing them.

Emblems for Honours: A new emblem, which is designed to be worn on the everyday clothing of those who have been appointed to the Order of the British Empire