Defra homepage  


Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs
Nobel House, 17 Smith Square, London, SW1P 3JR
Out of hours: 020 7270 8960

Up to index


10 March 2005


The Queen has been pleased to approve the appointments of Dr Nicholas Cumpsty, Professor Susan Owens OBE, Professor Peter Liss and Professor Judith Petts, and the re-appointments of Dr Paul Ekins, Professor Janet Sprent OBE, Professor Stephen Holgate and John Speirs CBE LVO as members of the Royal Commission on Environment Pollution each for a term of three years.

Biographical Notes

Dr Nicholas Cumpsty - is now professor of mechanically engineering in Imperial College having recently retired from the post of Chief Technologist, Rolls-Royce PLC. He was also a Professor at the University of Cambridge, Department of Engineering. He is a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering. He has written two books and numerous papers relating to gas turbines and jet propulsion.

Professor Peter Liss - is a Professor at the School of Environmental Sciences, University of East Anglia. He is also Guest Professor at the Ocean University of Qingdao, China, and was formerly Visiting Scientist at the University of Rhode Island, USA. He was a member of the NERC and sat on a number of committees including the Radioactive Waste Management Committee and the British Council Science, Engineering and Environment Advisory Committee. He is currently a member of the recently formed Working Group on Ocean Acidification and is also Vice-Chair of the Royal Society Global Environmental Research Committee.

Professor Susan Owens OBE - is a Professor of Environment and Policy at the Department of Geography, University of Cambridge, a Fellow of Newnham College and current Commissioner of the RCEP since 1998. From 1995 to 1998 she was a member of the UK Round Table on Sustainable Development and from 1996 to 1999 she was a Board Member of the Countryside Commission. During 2003 and 2004 she served on a group advising on DEFRA's Horizon Scanning Research Programme. Professor Owens was awarded the Royal Geographical Society 'Back' Award in 2000, and was elected to the Academy for the Social Sciences (AcSS) in 2002.

Professor Judith Petts - is the Head of the School of Geography, Earth & Environment Sciences, University of Birmingham. She is a member of the NERC Council and has sat on a number of committees to advise government departments and local authorities. She is also Chair of Environmental Risk Management (University of Birmingham). She was previously Senior Lecturer and then Director of the Centre for Hazard and Risk Management (University of Loughborough).

Professor Janet Sprent OBE - is Honorary Research Professor, Scottish Crop Research Institute and Emeritus Professor of Plant Biology, University of Dundee. She is a Board Member of Scottish Natural Heritage and was a member of SHEFC from 1992 to 1996. From 1991 to 1995 she was a member of the Natural Environment Research Council. She was also Governor of Macaulay Land Use Research Institute from1990 to 2000 and Chairman from 1995 to 2000. Professor Sprent is an Honorary Member of the British Ecological Society.

John Speirs CBE LVO - Has been a member of the Chemistry Leadership Council since 2004 and the chairman of its Futures Group Committee since 2003. He was President of the National Society for Clean Air and Environmental Protection from 2002-2003. Since 2001 he has been an non-executive Director of the Carbon Trust. He was a member of the Management Committee of the Prince of Wales's Business and Environment Programme from 1996 to 2004 and was Chairman of its UK faculty from 1994-2002. From 1981 until his retirement in 2002 he was managing Director of Norsk Hydro (UK) Ltd.

Professor Paul Ekins - is Head of the Environment Group Policy Studies Institute and Professor of Sustainable Development at the University of Westminster. He is also Associate Director of the Forum for the Future, a Senior Consultant, Cambridge Econometrics and Specialist Advisor to the House of Commons Environmental Audit Committee.

Professor Stephen Holgate - is the Medical Research Council's Clinical Professor of Immunopharmacology at the University of Southampton. He is a member of the Polish Academy of Arts and Sciences and an Honorary Consultant Physician at Southampton University Hospital Trust. He is also a former adviser to the House of Lords Select Committee on Science and Technology, Chairman of the Expert Panel on Air Quality Standards and Chairman of the Science Councils Science In Health Group.


Notes for editors

1. This press notice was issued by the Prime Minister's office today.

2. The Royal Commission on Environmental Pollution is an independent, standing body established by Royal Warrant, which provides advice on environmental issues to The Queen, the UK Government and Parliament, the devolved administrations, and the public.


Public Enquiries: 08459 335577
Press Notices available via Defra website
Defra's aim is sustainable development

Top of page