Friday 11 July 2003

Ministry of Justice

Ministry of Justice The Ministry replaces the Department for Constitutional Affairs.

It is responsible for policy on the overall criminal, civil, family and administrative justice system, including sentencing policy, as well as the courts, tribunals, legal aid and constitutional reform.

The Ministry of Justice helps to bring together management of the criminal justice system from end to end, meaning that once a suspect has been charged their journey through the courts - and if necessary prison and probation - can be managed seamlessly.

Here is a list of ministers who work for the Ministry of Justice.

Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for Justice

Jack Straw; copyright: Reuters Rt Hon Jack Straw MP


  • Overall strategy
  • Resourcing
  • Judicial appointments
  • Judicial diversity
  • Lords reform
  • Party funding
  • Constitutional renewal

Minister of State

David Hanson Rt Hon David Hanson MP


  • Oversight of criminal law
  • Prisons
  • Probation
  • Sentencing policy
  • Youth Justice
  • Northern Ireland Court Service
  • Industrial relations

Minister of State

Michael WillsMichael Wills MP


  • Constitutional renewal (apart from Lords Reform)
  • Electoral policy
  • Electoral engagement (with Bridget Prentice)
  • Freedom of Information
  • Data sharing and data protection
  • National Archives
  • Devolution
  • Human rights, including Equalities
  • Crown Dependencies
  • Royal, Church & Hereditary Issues and Lord Lieutenants
  • Privy Counsellors
  • Land Registry

Parliamentary Under Secretary of State

Lord HuntLord Hunt of Kings Heath OBE


  • Legal Aid
  • Legal Services Commission
  • Lords Reform (with Secretary of State)
  • Departmental business in the Lords

Parliamentary Under Secretary of State

Bridget PrenticeBridget Prentice MP


  • Civil and family justice
  • Coroner reform
  • Electoral / democratic engagement (with Michael Wills)
  • Party funding (with Secretary of State)
  • Law Commission
  • Social Exclusion
  • Compensation culture
  • Tribunals and administrative justice
  • Legal services reform
  • Legal Services Complaints Commission
  • Legal Services Ombudsman
  • Asylum and Immigration
  • European Union and international
  • Office of the Public Guardian
  • Offices of Court Funds, Official Solicitor and Public Trustee

Parliamentary Under Secretary of State

Maria EagleMaria Eagle MP


  • Lead on criminal law
  • Support on prisons, probation, and sentencing policy
  • HM Courts Service
  • Criminal Justice
  • Office for Criminal Justice Reform
  • Support to Lord Hunt on legal aid

Contact department

For general enquiries e-mail the MofJ at:

Useful links



Around the Web

Facebook Logo

History and Tour