View statistics online

Notes on Student Tables 1998/99

1. University of London is a confederal organisation. The colleges of the university, shown separately in the HESA reference volumes, are:
Birkbeck College
Institute of Education
Goldsmiths College
Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine
King’s College London
London Business School
London School of Economics and Political Science
London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
The School of Oriental and African Studies
The School of Pharmacy
Queen Mary and Westfield College
Royal Holloway and Bedford New College
The Royal Veterinary College
St. George’s Hospital Medical School
University College London
Wye College
(Heythrop College is also a college of University of London, but is not included in HESA statistics as it is not publicly-funded.)

In addition, the institutes within the umbrella of University of London (Institutes and activities) are:
British Institute in Paris
Courtauld Institute of Art
School of Slavonic and East European Studies
University Marine Biological Station
The Institute of Cancer Research

School of Advanced Study comprises:
Institute of Advanced Legal Studies
Institute of Classical Studies
Institute of Commonwealth Studies
Centre for English Studies
Institute of Germanic Studies
Institute of Historical Research
Institute of Latin American Studies
Institute of Romance Studies
Institute of United States Studies
Warburg Institute

3. The figures for The Queen’s University of Belfast also include students studying at the Northern Ireland teacher training establishments.

6. There have been some significant mergers between HE and FE colleges in 1998/99. Also the introduction to the HESA record of students at institutions in Wales who are following programmes of study of ‘Welsh for Adults’ has increased the number of FE students at Welsh institutions when compared to previous years.

Copyright © Higher Education Statistics Agency Limited 2000