View statistics online

Notes to tables - Students in Higher Education Institutions 2007/08

  1. Analyses of subject information show Full Person Equivalents (FPE). These are derived by splitting student records between the different subjects that make up their qualification aim.

  2. Students of indeterminate gender are included in total figures but not in separate breakdowns.

  3. 2007 EU accession countries include those joining the EU on 1 January 2007: Bulgaria, Romania.

  4. Figures include only those students whose length of programme is known.

  5. Students whose ethnicity is not known include those who have been coded 'information refused'.

  6. An unseen disability means, for example, diabetes, epilepsy or asthma.

  7. Figures include only those students whose age is known.

  8. The University of Cambridge does not classify its bachelor of arts degree, but awards classes in the Tripos (honours) examination usually taken at the end of each academic year. The class of degree recorded in the HESA record in and after 2003/04 is the result obtained in the student's final year.

  9. The list of institutions in the HESA products for 2007/08 has changed.

    Cumbria Institute of the Arts and the Carlisle campus and Penrith campus of The University of Central Lancashire merged with St Martin's College
    The Royal College of Nursing transferred provision of its HE distance learning programmes to The Open University
    University Campus Suffolk joined the HE sector as an independent institution
    Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama merged with University of Glamorgan
    Bell College merged with The University of Paisley.

  10. The following institutions have changed their names in the HESA products for 2007/08:

    Birmingham College of Food, Tourism and Creative Studies changed to University College Birmingham
    The University College for the Creative Arts at Canterbury, Epsom, Farnham, Maidstone, Rochester changed to University for the Creative Arts
    St Martin’s College changed to University of Cumbria
    Newman College of Higher Education changed to Newman University College
    Norwich School of Art and Design changed to Norwich University College of the Arts
    The North-East Wales Institute of Higher Education changed to Glyndwr University
    Swansea Institute of Higher Education changed to Swansea Metropolitan University
    The University of Paisley changed to The University of the West of Scotland.

  11. University of London is a confederal organisation. The colleges of the university, shown separately in the HESA reference volumes, are:

    Birkbeck College
    The Institute of Cancer Research
    Central School of Speech and Drama
    Courtauld Institute of Art
    Goldsmiths College
    Heythrop College
    Institute of Education
    King’s College London
    London Business School
    London School of Economics and Political Science
    London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine
    Queen Mary and Westfield College
    Royal Academy of Music
    Royal Holloway and Bedford New College
    The Royal Veterinary College
    St. George’s Hospital Medical School
    The School of Oriental and African Studies
    The School of Pharmacy
    University College London.

    In addition, the institutes within the umbrella of University of London (Institutes and activities) are:

    University of London Institute in Paris
    University Marine Biological Station, Millport
    School of Advanced Study comprises:
    Institute of Advanced Legal Studies
    Institute of Classical Studies
    Institute of Commonwealth Studies
    Institute of English Studies
    Institute of Germanic Studies and Romance Studies
    Institute of Historical Research
    Institute of Musical Research
    Institute of Philosophy
    Institute for the Study of the Americas
    Warburg Institute.

  12. Dartington College of Arts merged with University College Falmouth. However, both institutions continued to make separate returns for the HESA 2007/08 reporting period.

  13. The specification of the HESA session and HESA standard registration populations has changed from 2007/08. Students on sabbatical are no longer included in these populations and additionally, writing-up students are not included in the HESA standard registration population. However, in certain tables writing-up students have been separately re-created based on the standard registration population to illustrate the effect of their removal from this year's data.

  14. In 2007/08 a small number of HEIs submitted first degree data without a classification. These figures are included in totals but not in separate breakdowns.

  15. The Institute of Continuing Education at The University of Cambridge records enrolments by module, but its student record system is currently unable to separately capture the overall JACS programme of study for the unique course entity requirement. Consequently, for 2007/08, all 3,925 part-time other undergraduate students have been recorded as 'Combined' subject of study.

  16. The University of Strathclyde’s Integrative Masters Pharmacy degrees have been categorised at postgraduate level. Previously, and in future, they will be categorised as undergraduate degrees. Further clarification is available from the University’s Planning Office.

  17. A number of HEIs with significant levels of FE provision, agreed with the Funding Councils and the Learning and Skills Council (LSC) to no longer make dual returns to both LSC and HESA. From 2007/08 these HEIs are only making a return for this provision to LSC.