Communities and neighbourhoods

Content under review

Following the change of government we are reviewing all content on this website.

Indices of Deprivation 2007

The Index of Multiple Deprivation 2007 combines a number of indicators, chosen to cover a range of economic, social and housing issues, into a single deprivation score for each small area in England. This allows each area to be ranked relative to one another according to their level of deprivation. As with the 2004 Indices, the Indices of Deprivation 2007 have been produced at Lower Super Output Area level, of which there are 32,482 in the country.

There are also six district summary scores for each Local Authority district (there are 354 districts in England) and for each County Council and higher tier (there are 149 of these). A relative ranking of areas, according to their level of deprivation is then provided. There are also supplementary Indices measuring income deprivation amongst children and older people: the Income Deprivation Affecting Children Index (IDACI) and the Income Deprivation Affecting Older People Index (IDAOPI).

Together these various Indices make up the Indices of Deprivation 2007.

The methodology underpinning the ID 2004 and the ID 2007 are largely the same though there have been small changes to some of the underlying indicators. Comparison between the two Indices is therefore acceptable.

The Indices are used widely to analyse patterns of deprivation, identify areas that would benefit from special initiatives or programmes and as a tool to determine eligibility for specific funding streams.

In this section

Related downloads

Do you need help viewing file formats?

Related publications

You may also be interested in …

On this site

My favourites