Skip to content Top

Witnesses named for next round of public hearings

The names of witnesses who will appear before the Iraq Inquiry in public from the end of June have been released today. The hearings are expected to run from 29 June to 30 July 2010, at the QE II conference centre in London.

Since the last public hearing on 8th March, the Inquiry has been analysing the evidence it has received, including in areas which were not covered in the previous round of public hearings. It has also visited France and the US.

The Committee has now decided to call new witnesses to explore issues relevant to its remit.  The initial list of witnesses is as follows:

WitnessesIn relation to the following roles:
Cathy Adams Legal Counsellor, Legal Secretariat to the Law Officers, 2002 to 2005
Sir Geoffrey Adams KCMG HM Ambassador to Iran, 2006 to 2009
Rt Hon Bob Ainsworth MP Minister of State for the Armed Forces, 2007 to 2009

Secretary of State for Defence, 2009
Andy Bearpark CBE Director Operations and Infrastructure in the Coalition Provisional Authority, 2003 to 2004
Dr Hans Blix 1st Executive Chairman of the United Nations Monitoring, Verification and Inspection Commission, 2000 to 2003
Rt Hon The Lord Boateng Chief Secretary to the Treasury, 2002 to 2005
Douglas Brand OBE Chief Police Adviser to the Ministry of Interior, Baghdad, 2003 to 2004
John Buck Director, Iraq, Foreign and Commonwealth Office 2003 to 2004
Sir Jonathan Cunliffe CB Managing Director, Financial Regulation & Industry, 2002

Managing Director, Macroeconomic Policy and International Finance, HM Treasury, 2002 to 2007
Sir Richard Dalton KCMG HM Ambassador to Iran, 2002 to 2006
General Sir Richard Dannatt GCB CBE MC Assistant Chief of the General Staff, 2001 to 2002

Commander in Chief Land Command, 2005 to 2006

Chief of the General Staff, 2006 to 2009
John Dodds Team Leader – Defence, Diplomacy and Intelligence, HM Treasury, 2003 to 2005
Lt Gen James Dutton CBE General Officer Commanding Multi National Division (South East), 2005

Deputy Chief of Joint Operations (Operations), 2007 to 2009
Mark Etherington CBE Head of Provincial Reconstruction Team, Basra 2006 to 2007
Lt Gen Andrew Figgures CBE Deputy Chief of Defence Staff (Equipment Capability), 2006 to 2009
Sir Ronnie Flanagan GBE QPM HM Chief Inspector of Constabulary, 2005 - 2008
Lt Gen Sir Robert Fulton KBE Deputy Chief of Defence Staff (Equipment Capability), 2003 to 2006
Sir John Holmes GCVO KBE CMG HM Ambassador to Paris, 2001 to 2007
Martin Howard CB Director General Operational Policy, MOD, 2004 to 2007
Rt Hon Adam Ingram Minister of State for the Armed Forces 2001 to 2007
Lt Gen Sir Alistair Irwin KCB CBE Adjutant General 2003 to 2005
General Sir Mike Jackson GCB CBE DSO DL Commander in Chief Land Command, 2000 to 2003

Chief of the General Staff, 2003 to 2006
Rt Hon The Lord Jay of Ewelme GCMG Permanent Under Secretary, Foreign and Commonwealth Office, 2002 to 2006
Sally Keeble Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for International Development 2002 to 2003
Paul Kernaghan CBE QPM International Policing portfolio lead, Association of Chief Police Officers for England, Wales & Northern Ireland, 2001 to 2008
Lt Gen Louis Lillywhite CB MBE QHS Director General Army Medical Service 2003 to 2005

Director General Medical Operational Capability 2005 to 2006

Surgeon General 2006 to 2009
Iain Macleod Legal Counsellor to the United Kingdom’s Mission to the United Nations, 2001 to 2004
Tom McKane Director General Resource & Plans, Ministry of Defence, 2002 to 2006
Bruce Mann CB Director General Financial Management, Ministry of Defence, 2001 to 2004
Lt Gen Mark Manns CBE Deputy Adjutant General 2005 to 2008
Baroness Manningham-Buller DCB Deputy Director General, Security Service until 2002

Director General, Security Service, 2002 to 2007
Carolyn Miller Director Europe, Middle East and Americas, Department for International Development, 2001 to 2004
General Sir Kevin O’Donoghue KCB CBE Deputy Chief of Defence Staff (Health), 2002 to 2004

Chief of Defence Logistics, 2005 to 2007

Chief of Defence Material, 2007 to 2009
Lt Gen Anthony Palmer CB CBE Deputy Chief Defence Staff (Personnel) 2002 to 2005
Air Marshal David Pocock CB CVO Deputy Chief of Defence Staff (Personnel), 2005 to 2007
Rt Hon The Lord Prescott First Secretary of State and Deputy Prime Minister, to 2007
Carne Ross First Secretary, United Kingdom Mission to New York, 1998 to 2002
Maj Gen Andy Salmon CMG OBE General Officer Commanding Multi National Division (South East), 2008 to 2009
Colin Smith QPM Senior Police Adviser, Basra 2005 to 2006
Sir Peter Spencer KCB Chief of Defence Procurement 2003 to 2007
Michael Wareing CMG Prime Minister’s Envoy for Reconstruction in Southern Iraq and Chairman of the Basra Development Commission, 2007 to 2009
Stephen White OBE Director of Law and Order and Senior Police Adviser to the Coalition Provisional Authority, 2003 to 2004
Vice Admiral Peter Wilkinson CVO Deputy Chief of Defence Staff (Personnel), 2007 to present
Trevor Woolley CB Director General Resource & Plans, Ministry of Defence, 1998 to 2002

Financial Director, Ministry of Defence, 2003 to 2009

It is likely that the Inquiry will hold another round of public hearings in the autumn to cover new subjects, provide new evidence, or revisit issues with previous witnesses, if required. The Inquiry has yet to decide and will not comment further at this time.

The Iraq Inquiry aims to deliver its report at the end of the year.