Skip to content

The Chair and structure of the UK Statistics Authority

The Statistics Authority is a Non-Ministerial Department (NMD) with a non-executive Chair who, along with the National Statistician, is appointed by Her Majesty the Queen.

The Chair of the UK Statistics Authority is Andrew Dilnot CBE. Andrew was appointed Chair of the Authority in December 2011 following open competition, and with parliamentary approval.

Seven other non-executive members were appointed through open competition, some after consultation with the devolved administrations. The non-executive members are Lord Rowe-Beddoe of Kilgetty (who occupies the Deputy Chair post with responsibility for the governance of ONS), Professor David Rhind (who occupies the Deputy Chair post with responsibility for promoting and safeguarding the production and publication of all official statistics across the UK), Partha Dasgupta, Dame Moira Gibb, Sir Jon Shortridge and Colette Bowe.

The Statistics Authority also comprises three executive members, one of whom is the National Statistician, Jil Matheson.

The National Statistician is the Statistics Authority's principal adviser on professional statistical matters as well as the Statistics Authority's Chief Executive. She will be accountable to the Statistics Authority for the operation of the Statistics Authority's executive office.

The other two executive members are Glen Watson, Director General for ONS and Richard Aldritt, Head of Assessment, who will act as principal adviser to the non-executive members on the assessment and re-assessment of official statistics.

The Statistics Authority may have other employees as needed, all of whom will be civil servants.

These include staff in the Statistics Authority's executive office who are involved in the production of statistics, the Statistics Authority's own Secretariat, and those engaged to work on assessing official statistics against the Statistics Authority's Code of Practice.

Content from the Office for National Statistics.
© Crown Copyright applies unless otherwise stated.