Skip to content

Glossary U

Related links

              A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

UK Statistical Geographies Database

The UK Statistical Geographies Database provides a consistent knowledge base of the range of statistical geographies that are being used across National Statistics.
Further information about the UK Statistical Geographies Database

Unique Property Reference Number (UPRN)

Unique Property Reference Numbers (UPRN) are the unique geographic identifiers used in the National Land and Property Gazetteer (NLPG).

Unitary Administration

The term ‘unitary administration' is used in this context to describe all local authority districts that form a single tier of local government (i.e. all UK local authority districts except for English counties and non-metropolitan districts). The term therefore covers unitary authorities, metropolitan districts and London boroughs in England; unitary authorities in Wales; council areas in Scotland; and district council areas in Northern Ireland. Note though that the term is not in common use and that it is a generic term, rather than one that reflects a specific geographic type.

Unitary Authority (UA)

Unitary authorities (UA) are areas with a single tier of local government (as opposed to the two-tier county: district structure). In practice the term is only applied to the 22 UAs established across the whole of Wales in 1996 and to the 56 UAs established in parts of England between 1995 and 2009. However London boroughs and metropolitan districts in England, council areas in Scotland and district council areas in Northern Ireland are all served by single-tier (unitary) administrations.
Further information about unitary authorities

United Kingdom (UK)

The UK is the nation state consisting of England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

Urban Area

There is no single definition of an urban area as there are many different approaches to classifying what is urban. These include approaches based on population, population density and land use, all of which have different advantages and disadvantages depending on the purpose of the classification. However, the 2011 rural-urban area classification is now available as a National Statistics standard. This classifies output areas and wards as either urban or rural depending on whether the bulk of their population falls in a settlement of greater than 10,000 residents. It also offers sub-classifications of urban and rural areas, based on population density.
Further information about urban areas


Content from the Office for National Statistics.
© Crown Copyright applies unless otherwise stated.