Skip to content

Glossary F

Related links

              A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Fire Service Area

In England there is one fire and rescue service in each of the former metropolitan counties and in Greater London. There is also one in each of the non-metropolitan counties that existed before the local government reorganisations (LGR) of the mid-1990s and 2009. In Wales there are three fire services (North, Mid and West, and South), each covering a number of unitary authorities.
In Scotland there are eight fire services, each based on one or more council areas (and reflecting the local government regions that existed before 1996).
There is one fire service for Northern Ireland. 
Further information on the UK Fire and Rescue Service

Content from the Office for National Statistics.
© Crown Copyright applies unless otherwise stated.