Skip to content

Glossary E

Related links

              A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Education and Learning Wales (ELWa) Region

Education and learning Wales (ELWa) regions were responsible for funding and planning post-16 education and training in Wales. ELWa had four regional offices; the four ELWa regions corresponded with the National Assembly economic regions (NAER). In April 2007 the department for children, education, lifelong learning and skills (DCELLS) replaced the ELWa regions.
Further information on DCELLS

Education and Library Board (ELB)

Education and library boards (ELB) are responsible for the local administration of state education services in Northern Ireland. There are five ELBs, each covering one or more complete district council areas.
Further information on ELBs.

Electoral Division

See electoral ward/electoral division (below).

Electoral Region

Electoral regions are large areas from which multiple members are elected to legislatures on a proportional basis. The electoral regions in the UK include European electoral regions (EER) – see EER section within this page.
Further information on Scottish parliamentary electoral regions and Welsh Assembly electoral regions – See devolved parliament

Electoral Ward / Electoral Division

Electoral wards/divisions are the base unit of UK administrative geography: all higher units are built up from them. They are also used as a base unit for many other geographies, such as parliamentary constituencies and primary care trusts (PCT). Electoral wards are found across Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland and most of England, whereas the equivalents in the Isle of Wight and six of the unitary authorities created in 2009 are known as electoral divisions.
Further information on electoral wards/divisions

Enterprise Region (ER)

Enterprise regions (ER) are government-funded bodies that aim to foster local economic growth and development in Scotland. There are six ERs and these cover the whole of Scotland. ERs replaced local enterprise companies (LEC) in September 2007.  
Further information on enterprise regions

Enumeration District (ED)

See Census Enumeration District (ED).

Environment Agency Region

The Environment Agency is the leading public body for protecting the environment in England and Wales. It is divided into seven regions (six in England, one in Wales) that are defined by a combination of administrative and physical geography. Each region is subdivided into two, three or four Area Offices, of which there are 22 in total.
Further information on the Environment Agency 

European Electoral Region (EER)

European electoral regions (EER) are used to elect members to the European Parliament in Strasbourg. There are 12 EERs in the UK, one in each of the nine regions (former GORs) in England, and one in each of Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.
Further information on European Electoral Regions 

European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) Area

The European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) is provided by the European Union and is co-ordinated in England by the Department for Communities and Local Government (DCLG). It is considered to be an Area-Based Initiative (ABI) and aims to promote economic development and regeneration in deprived regions.
Further information on the European Regional Development Fund

European Structural Fund Area

Structural funds are the European Union's (EU) means of supporting social and economic restructuring across a region. An area’s access to structural funds depends on whether it has been classified as an Objective 1, 2 or 3 area. Objective 1 areas are those that have less than 75% of the EU average GDP; this applies to the least prosperous parts of the UK. Objective 1 funding is the highest level of regional funding available from the EU. Objective 1 areas are equivalent to NUTS, level 2 units.
Objective 2 areas are those defined as facing structural difficulties; the areas included cover around a third of the UK. Objective 2 areas are built up from electoral wards. Objective 3 applies to the whole of the UK, apart from those areas that are Objective 1 areas.
There were also formerly Objective 4 and Objective 5 areas, but these schemes ended in 1999.
For further information on the European Structural Fund Areas


Content from the Office for National Statistics.
© Crown Copyright applies unless otherwise stated.