Skip to content

Glossary C

Related links

              A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Care Trust

Care trusts (CT) were a form of statutory health body in England established to provide integrated services. For the purposes of this glossary, we are only interested in those CTs that were based on the primary care trust (PCT) model and which, like PCTs, reported to the strategic health authorities (SHAs). As of April 2011, there were five such CTs, with the rest of the country being covered by PCTs. However, whereas PCTs had a health remit only, CTs also delivered the health services usually provided by local authorities.  CTs (and PCTs) were replaced by Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCG) from April 2013.
Further information on English health geography

Census Area Statistics (CAS) Ward

Census area statistics (CAS) wards are used for 2001 Census outputs. Unlike actual electoral wards/divisions they are required to meet certain minimum size thresholds in order to prevent disclosure of Census data.
Further information on CAS wards

Census Enumeration District (ED)

Census enumeration districts (ED) are used across the UK for the purposes of census data collection. They were formerly also the base unit of census output, but Census output areas (OAs) were introduced for this purpose in 1991 (Scotland) and 2001 (rest of the UK).
Further information on the UK Census and Census geography

Choropleth Map

Choropleth maps compare the characteristics of different areas by means of shading; areas with similar characteristics are shaded the same colour.

City of London

The City of London is a local authority district in central London but is unique in that it is administered by the Corporation of London, rather than by a standard local authority district council. It is, however, considered as a London borough for many statistical purposes.
Further information on Greater London and the London boroughs

Civil Parish

See parish.

Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG)

Clinical commissioning groups (CCG) are groups of GPs that are responsible for designing local health services in England by commissioning or buying health and care services, and all GP practices have to belong to a CCG. They came into effect on 1 April 2013 and are built from 2011 lower layer super output areas.
Further information about English health geographies

Code History Database (CHD)

The Code History Database (CHD) provides details of the nine-character codes that were introduced as part of the GSS Coding and Naming Policy on 1 January 2011. This includes look-ups between the nine character codes and the old-style codes, as well as individual name and code listings, their hierarchical relationships and archived geographies.
Further information on the Code History Database


‘Community’ is a very general term referring to the people living in a locality or to the locality itself. In Wales and Scotland, however, specific communities have been defined:

  1. Welsh communities are subdivisions of unitary authorities, and their councils are the most local level of government in Wales. They are the equivalent of (civil) parishes in England but, unlike English parishes, communities cover the whole of Wales.

  2. Scottish communities are subdivisions of council areas, but community councils have a limited role and are not generally regarded as a tier of local government. Communities cover the whole of Scotland.  We do not supply the names and codes for the Scottish communities.

Further information on parishes and communities

Community Health Partnerships (CHP)

Community health partnerships (CHP) were introduced in 2006 as a second tier of health administration in Scotland. CHPs play a key role in improving health and reducing inequalities, working with local communities and other statutory and voluntary sector providers. They report to the Scottish Health Boards.
Further information on the community health partnerships

Community Safety Partnerships (CSP)

The Safe and Confident Neighbourhoods Strategy (March 2010) saw the renaming of Crime and Disorder Reduction Partnerships to Community Safety Partnerships (CSP), as indeed they'd always been known in Wales. CSPs bring agencies and communities together to tackle crime within communities. Traditionally each local authority district had its own CSP; however, due to economies of scale, there have been several mergers in recent years.
Further information on Community Safety Partnerships


Constituencies are used to elect members to legislatures. The different constituencies in the UK include:

  • London Assembly constituencies

  • Northern Ireland Assembly constituencies

  • Scottish parliamentary constituencies

  • Welsh Assembly constituencies

  • Westminster parliamentary constituencies

For further information, see the pages on devolved parliaments and Westminster parliamentary constituencies (that is, constituencies for the UK Parliament at Westminster)

Council Area

A total of 32 council areas were established across the whole of Scotland in 1996. These councils form the single tier of local government in Scotland.
Further information on Scottish administrative geography


In the context of the UK, each of the four main subdivisions (England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland) is referred to as a country.


Counties were formerly administrative units across the whole of the UK. Due to various administrative restructurings, however, the only administrative areas still referred to as ‘counties’ are the non-metropolitan (shire) counties of England. The English metropolitan counties, although no longer administrative units, are also used for statistical purposes. 
Non-metropolitan (shire) counties
Metropolitan counties

County Electoral Division

County electoral divisions are the areas used to elect members to county councils in England. They should not be confused with the unitary authority electoral divisions found in the Isle of Wight and six of the unitary authorities created as part of the Local Government Reorganisation (LGR) in 2009.
Further information on county electoral divisions


Content from the Office for National Statistics.
© Crown Copyright applies unless otherwise stated.