Skip to content

North East (England)

The Nomenclature of Territorial Units for Statistics (NUTS) is a hierarchical classification of administrative areas, used across the European Union (EU) for statistical purposes.

North East (England) is one of 12 NUTS 1 areas in the UK.

The table below shows the breakdown into NUTS 2 and 3 and LAU (local administrative units) 1 areas.

NUTS 2 areas within North East (England):
Tees Valley and Durham
Northumberland and Tyne and Wear
These two NUTS 2 areas are divided into the following NUTS 3 areas:
Tees Valley and Durham Hartlepool and Stockton-on-Tees
South Teesside
Durham CC
Northumberland and Tyne and Wear Northumberland
These seven NUTS 3 areas are divided into the following LAU 1 areas:
Hartlepool and Stockton-on-Tees Hartlepool
South Teesside Middlesbrough
Redcar and Cleveland
Darlington Darlington
Durham CC County Durham
Northumberland Northumberland
Tyneside Gateshead
Newcastle upon Tyne
North Tyneside
South Tyneside
Sunderland Sunderland



Content from the Office for National Statistics.
© Crown Copyright applies unless otherwise stated.