Approved premises in the UK

European Union member states' competent authorities must give approval to establishments handling, preparing or producing products of animal origin for which requirements are laid down in Regulation (EC) 853/2004. Member states are required to publish lists of these establishments under sixteen separate sections each corresponding to a different food sector.

These sections are set out below. Under each section you will find the lists of that type of establishment for England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.


Section Activity
SECTION 0 General activity establishments*
SECTION I Meat of domestic ungulates*
SECTION II Meat from poultry and lagomorphs*
SECTION III Meat of farmed game*
SECTION IV Wild game meat*
SECTION V Minced meat, meat preparations and mechanically recovered meat*
SECTION VI Meat products*
SECTION VII Live bivalve molluscs
SECTION VIII Fishery products
SECTION IX Dairy products
SECTION X Eggs and egg products (not currently available)
SECTION XI Frogs' legs and snails
SECTION XII Rendered animal fats and greaves
SECTION XIII Treated stomachs, bladders and intestines*

* Please note that where an approval number is shown on one of these lists without a two-letter prefix, that establishment is approved by the Food Standards Agency's Operations Group rather than a local authority.

More in this section