Skip to content

East Midlands

The 2013 Review of Parliamentary constituency boundaries will introduce substantial changes. It will reduce the number of constituencies in England from 533 to 502 and make sure that each constituency has a similar number of registered electors. Read more about the Review.

What is changing in the East Midlands?

We have revised nine of the 44 constituencies we proposed in September 2011. After careful consideration, we have decided not to make any revisions to the boundaries of the remaining 35 constituencies. In some instances, however, we have revised our proposed names for these constituencies.

Under our revised proposals, 11 constituencies in the East Midlands would remain the same as they are under the existing arrangements.

We have revised our proposals in Derbyshire for the boundaries between the High Peak and Derbyshire Dales constituencies, and the Mid Derbyshire and Bolsover constituencies.

In Northamptonshire, we have revised our proposal for the boundary between the Wellingborough and Kettering constituencies, and in Nottinghamshire we have revised our initial proposals for the Newark, Sherwood, and Mansfield constituencies. Our revised proposal for Mansfield retains the existing constituency boundary.

Following careful consideration, we have not revised our initial proposals for the two cross-county boundary constituencies in the Northamptonshire, Leicestershire, and Nottinghamshire sub-region – Coalville and Keyworth, and Daventry – although we propose to rename the latter Daventry and Lutterworth.

We do not propose any revisions to our initial proposals for Lincolnshire.

Where can I view the revised proposals?

To view electronic versions of revised proposals please see list below, alternatively you can view printed copies at various locations in your regions listed here.

Read the East Midlands revised proposals summary.

Read the East Midlands revised proposals report.

View the East Midlands revised proposals regional map(note large file).

View the East Midlands reviseded proposals annex.

We have produced the following tables to help people understand the relationship between the existing constituencies and our revised proposals.

View the East Midlands revised proposals constituency breakdown tables.

View the East Midlands revised proposals by sub region.

Electoral statistics

We have published the 2011 electoral data which we are using in the 2013 Review.
View the electoral data for the East Midlands.
View instructions for using the data.

Electorate: 3,361,089

Current number of constituencies: 46

Proposed number of constituencies: 44