This snapshot, taken on
, shows web content acquired for preservation by The National Archives. External links, forms and search may not work in archived websites and contact details are likely to be out of date.
The UK Government Web Archive does not use cookies but some may be left in your browser from archived websites.
Advanced search

UK Mission to the United Nations

New York

London 17:12, 02 Jan 2013
New York 12:12, 02 Jan 2013
Last updated at 16:59 (UK time) 1 Nov 2012

Member States and their Permanent Representatives

South Sudan flag at UNHQ
The United Nations has 193 Member states.

According to the Charter of the United Nations, membership of the organisation “is open to all peace-loving States that accept the obligations contained in the United Nations Charter and, in the judgment of the Organization, are able to carry out these obligations”. States are admitted to membership in the United Nations by decision of the General Assembly upon the recommendation of the Security Council.

This Flickr set shows all the Permanent Representatives to the UN, searchable in alphabetical order. You can also click on images in the slideshow below for the name and country of each Permanent Representative featured.

Permanent Representatives to the United Nations