This snapshot, taken on
, shows web content acquired for preservation by The National Archives. External links, forms and search may not work in archived websites and contact details are likely to be out of date.
The UK Government Web Archive does not use cookies but some may be left in your browser from archived websites.
Essential maintenance work is being carried out on the UK Government Web Archive. This should not affect access, but in the event that it does, we will resolve it as soon as possible. We apologise for any inconvenience this might cause.
Please email if you require any assistance.
Advanced search

UK Mission to the United Nations

New York

London 18:20, 02 Jan 2013
New York 13:20, 02 Jan 2013
Last updated at 17:19 (UK time) 6 Jan 2010

Former Permanent Representatives

Security Council by UN Photo/Paulo Filgueiras

UN Security Council

Sir Alexander Cadogan, OM, GCMG, KCB - 1946 to 1950
Sir Gladwyn Jebb (later Baron Gladwyn of Bramfield), GCMG, GCVO, CB - 1950 to 1954
- Sir Gladwyn also served as the first Acting UN Secretary-General 1945 to 1946
Sir Pierson Dixon, GCMG, CB - 1954 to 1960
Sir Patrick Dean, GCMG - 1960 to 1964
Baron Caradon of St. Cleer (formerly Hugh Foot), GCMG, KCVO, OBE - 1964 to 1970
Sir Colin Crowe, KCMG - 1970 to 1973
Sir Donald Maitland, GCMG, OBE - 1973 to 1974
Rt. Hon. Ivor Richard (later Baron Richard of Ammanford) Q.C. - 1974 to 1979
Sir Anthony Parsons, GCMG, MVO, MC - 1979 to 1982
Sir John (Adam) Thomson, GCMG - 1982 to 1987
Sir Crispin Tickell, GCMG, KCVO - 1987 to 1990
Sir David Hannay (later Baron Hannay of Chiswick), GCMG, CH - 1990 to 1995
Sir John Weston, KCMG - 1995 to 1998
Sir Jeremy Greenstock, GCMG - 1998 to 2003
Sir Emyr Jones Parry, GCMG – 2003 to 2007
Sir John Sawers, KCMG - 2007 to 2009

See also