Access key links:

This site uses cookies to help make it more useful and reliable. Our cookies page explains what they are, which ones we use, and how you can manage or remove them.

ELC Membership


Rt Hon David Willetts MP  Minister for Universities and Science (BIS)
Dominic Tildesley  Unilever


 Rt Hon Ed Vaizey MP  Minister for Culture, Communications, and the Creative Industries (DCMS)


Paul Best Frazer-Nash/CFMS
Ian Dix AstraZeneca
David Docherty Digital Television Group
Andy Grant IBM
Darren Green GlaxoSmithKline
Prof Tony Hey Microsoft
Sean McGuire Intel
Andy Searle Jaguar Land Rover
Kaitlin Thaney Digital Science


Prof Peter Coveney University College London
Prof Robert Glen University of Cambridge
Prof Richard Kenway University of Edinburgh
Dr Oz Parchment University of Southampton
Prof Mike Payne University of Cambridge

Public Sector

Prof John Bancroft Science and Technology Facilities Council (STFC)
Dr Stuart Bell Met Office
David Bott Technology Strategy Board
Dr Bob Day JANET(UK)
Prof Douglas Kell Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC)
Dr Lesley Thompson Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC)

A comprehensive membership list is available Sign up for email alerts


 There's a business in everyone. What's the business in you?

Minister responsible

David Willetts is the minister responsible for this policy area.