Communities and neighbourhoods

Indices of deprivation 2010

The Index of Multiple Deprivation 2010 combines a number of indicators, chosen to cover a range of economic, social and housing issues, into a single deprivation score for each small area in England. This allows each area to be ranked relative to one another according to their level of deprivation. As with the 2007 and 2004 Indices, the Indices of Deprivation 2010 have been produced at Lower Super Output Area level, of which there are 32,482 in the country.

There are also six district summary scores for each Local Authority district (there are 326 districts in England). A relative ranking of areas, according to their level of deprivation is then provided. There are also supplementary Indices measuring income deprivation amongst children and older people: the Income Deprivation Affecting Children Index and the Income Deprivation Affecting Older People Index.

The methodology underpinning the 2010 and the 2007 and 2004 indices are largely the same though there have been small changes to some of the underlying indicators. Comparison between the three Indices is therefore acceptable.

The Indices are used widely to analyse patterns of deprivation, identify areas that would benefit from special initiatives or programmes and as a tool to determine eligibility for specific funding streams.

Related publications

Have your say

My favourites