On 6th July 2005, Jacques Rogge stood in front of the International Olympic Committee General Assembly in Singapore and announced: 'the Games of the XXXth Olympiad in 2012 are awarded to the city of...London'.

Following the announcement two organisations were created by London 2012.

The London Organising Committee of the Olympic and Paralympic Games (LOCOG) - responsible for preparing and staging the 2012 Games.

The Olympic Delivery Authority (ODA) - the public body responsible for developing and building the new venues and infrastructure for the Games and their use after 2012.

In order to ensure the whole of the UK is involved in and benefits from the 2012 Games, London 2012 set up the Nations and Regions Group (NRG).

Jeff Moore, is the East Midlands Member on the London 2012 Nations & Regions Group.

Tracy Croft is the East Midlands Regional Co-ordinator for the 2012 Games.  Funding for this post was originally provided by emda and Sport England, the role is now solely funded by DCMS.

In December 2007, following a regional stakeholder event and wide consultation, the East Midlands Regional Strategy for the 2012 Games was published, along with the structures to deliver the strategy.


The strategy contains six key activity areas and three embedded themes that reflect the priorities identified at the regional stakeholder event in February 2006 and through consultation on the strategy during the summer of 2007.

Six key activity areas:
Business, Children & Young People, Culture, Health, Sport, Visitor Economy

Three embedded themes:
Employment and Skills, Events, Volunteering.

Progress on the activity areas and embedded themes is reported to London 2012, via the Nations and Regions Group, under three key legacy areas: sporting, social and economic.


The East Midlands Management Board for the 2012 Games is responsible for strategically directing the region's activities.

The group is made up of representatives from emda, Sport England, Government Office East Midlands, East Midlands Tourism, Arts Council England, Loughborough University, Learning and Skills Council, Deloitte and a representative for the local authorities.

The East Midlands is made up of five counties (plus Rutland) that have established steering groups reflecting the regional key activity areas. The more information about the county groups can be found on our resources page.

Regional 2012 Team

Tracy  Croft - East Midlands Co-ordinator for the 2012 Games 
Paul Brookes- East Midlands Creative Programmer
Gaynor Nash- 2012 Co-ordinator for Children and Young People
Emma Rouse - Regional Inspire Programmer