Access key links:

Partner organisations

BIS is supported by a wide range of partner organisations in delivering its strategic priorities. Our partners provide services, information and advice to the Department and directly to a wide range of people and organisations. We have nine executive agencies: Companies House, The Insolvency Service, the Intellectual Property Office, the Land Registry, the Met Office, the National Measurement Office, Ordnance Survey the Skills Funding Agency and the UK Space Agency. Read about how we make public appointments. See also the BIS Public Bodies Directory 2010


  • Advantage West Midlands (RDA)

    The regional development agency (RDA) for the West Midlands. One of nine RDAs in England established to transform the English regions through sustainable economic development.

  • East Midlands Development Agency (EMDA)

    One of nine Regional Development Agencies in England, set up in 1999 by Government to bring a regional focus to economic development.

  • East of England Development Agency (EEDA)

    The East of England Development Agency (EEDA) is the driving force behind sustainable economic growth and regeneration in the East of England.

  • Industrial Development Advisory Board (IDAB)

    The IDAB advises Ministers on applications from companies who are proposing to undertake capital investment projects in the Assisted Areas in England and have applied for financial assistance under the Grant for Business Investment scheme.

  • Land Registry

    The Land Registry registers title to land in England and Wales, and records dealings (for example, sales and mortgages) with registered land. 

  • London Development Agency (LDA)

    The Mayor's agency responsible for driving London's sustainable economic growth. It's the LDA's job to ensure that London remains a global success story.

  • North West Development Agency (NWDA)

    The NWDA is a Regional Development Agency whose core purpose is to maximise the region’s competitiveness to build a stronger economy. Competitiveness is the key to England’s Northwest economic success – the essential element in the development of our region’s businesses, its people and its places.

  • OFCOM (merging with Postcomm)

    OFCOM is the independent regulator and competition authority for the UK’s communications industries, with responsibilities across television, radio, telecommunications and wireless communications services, including management of the civilian wireless radio spectrum.

    Update October 2010: The postal services regulator, Postcomm, will be merged into Ofcom.

  • Office of Fair Trading (OFT)

    The OFT is the UK's consumer and competition authority. Its mission is to make markets work well for consumers.

  • One North East (RDA)

    One North East is the Regional Development Agency (RDA) covering North East England. They are one of nine RDAs in England that were established to transform the English regions through sustainable economic development.

  • Ordnance Survey

    Ordnance Survey is the national mapping agency of Great Britain and provides accurate and up-to-date geographic data to government, business and individuals.


  • Postcomm (merging into Ofcom)

    Postcomm is an independent regulator which ensure the provision of a universal postal service throughout the UK: and to further the interests of postal users by developing competition, where appropriate. It licenses postal operators, and also controls the price and service quality of Royal Mail's universal services.

    Update October 2010: Postcomm is merging with the communications industry regulator - Ofcom.

  • South East England Development Agency (SEEDA)

    SEEDA has one aim - to support the economic development of its world-class region. It works at a local, regional, national and international level to attract inward investment, to help businesses reach their full potential and to win practical support from a range of partners. It brings funding into the region to help the economic growth of the South East.

  • South West of England Regional Development Agency

    It leads the development of a sustainable economy in the South West, investing to unlock the region's business potential.

  • UK Atomic Energy Authority

    The UK Atomic Energy Authority was set up to research and develop nuclear power. The principle mission of the Authority is to capitalise on the major fusion assets at the Culham Centre for Fusion Energy (CCFE), to advance fusion science and technology to the point of commercialisation, and to position the UK to participate in the future fusion-power economy.

  • Yorkshire Forward (RDA)

    Yorkshire Forward is the regional development agency for the Yorkshire & Humber region. Its goal is to make Yorkshire & Humber a better place to live, work and invest, and to ensure that our region is able to compete on the domestic and global stage.

Back to top