Access Keys:

Research Councils UK logo Excellence with Impact


RCUK position on the spending review

20 October 2010

We understand that the spending review has seen unprecedented cuts to public spending. The allocation that the Science and Research budget has received will enable the UK research base to contribute positively to the future prosperity and wellbeing of the UK. It will nonetheless present challenges to the research community. The Research Councils will continue to work closely with BIS to finalise their delivery plans. At this time we can not speculate on the allocation that will be made to individual Councils or the impact upon specific disciplines.

The support for scientific capital projects such as UK Centre for Medical Research and Innovation, Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Institute for Animal Health and the Diamond Light Source is welcomed. However, the overall cut in capital funding will present significant challenges to research and we will work with BIS to minimise the impact on affected disciplines.

- ends -

Further information

Jane Wakefield
RCUK Press and Communications Manager
Tel: 01793 444592

Notes for editors

  1. Research Councils UK (RCUK) is the strategic partnership of the UK's seven Research Councils. We invest annually around £3 billion in research. Our focus is on excellence with impact. We nurture the highest quality research, as judged by international peer review providing the UK with a competitive advantage. Global research requires we sustain a diversity of funding approaches, fostering international collaborations, and providing access to the best facilities and infrastructure, and locating skilled researchers in stimulating environments. Our research achieves impact – the demonstrable contribution to society and the economy made by knowledge and skilled people. To deliver impact, researchers and businesses need to engage and collaborate with the public, business, government and charitable organisations.

    The seven UK Research Councils are:

    • Arts & Humanities Research Council (AHRC);
    • Biotechnology & Biological Sciences Research Council (BBSRC);
    • Economic & Social Research Council (ESRC);
    • Engineering & Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC);
    • Medical Research Council (MRC);
    • Natural Environment Research Council (NERC);
    • Science & Technology Facilities Council (STFC).