Department of Health Skip to content

Please note that this website has a UK government access keys system.

PbR governance arrangements

  • Last modified date:
    19 September 2011

The delivery of Payment by Results policy and stakeholder engagement is managed through three Working Groups, and is supported by a Technical Working Group

The Working Groups are: 

PbR Programme Board

The PbR Programme Board, chaired by the Director of NHS Finance, Bob Alexander, meets bi-monthly and is tasked with ensuring that the Department of Health, the NHS Information Centre and NHS Connecting for Health deliver the elements of the PbR programme for which they are responsible on time and to budget. Terms of Reference and membership have been updated to reflect the growing need for joint working with Monitor and the NHS Commissioning Board during the transition process.

External Advisory Group

The External Advisory Group is a large stakeholder representation group which meets about four times a year. This Group is chaired by John McIvor, Chief Executive of Lincolnshire PCT, and has a wide membership including NHS and independent sector organisations, regulators, professional associations and policy organisations.

Clinical Advisory Panel

The Clinical Advisory Panel is the third and last main element of the revised governance arrangements. It is chaired by Dr Ian Rutter, who has been a PCT chief executive and who currently splits his time between general practice and acting as an adviser to the Department of Health. The membership is predominantly clinical with medical, nursing and allied health professional representation

Technical Working Group

The governance arrangements supporting PbR were reviewed in 2007 and the decision made to consolidate three working groups (operations, tariff scope, and structure and strategy) into a single Technical Working Group (TWG). The TWG is chaired by Jane Hazelgrave, Director of Finance at Bradford and Airedale PCT, and includes representatives from NHS Trusts, NHS Foundation Trusts, PCTs and SHAs, who have expertise in fields such as finance and specialised services.

Reference Costs Advisory Group

The Reference Costs Advisory Group (RCAG), is a group formed as a result of the recent ‘review of reference costs’ carried out in partnership with the Audit Commission. RCAG is chaired by Carolyn Wood, the PbR SHA Lead for the North West Region and membership of the group has representation from primary care trusts and NHS trusts as well as the Information Centre. The main remit of the group is to provide technical and practical advice on proposed changes and to support improvements to the annual reference costs collection guidance, further details can be found in the terms of reference.

Additional links

Contact us

Contact details for the Department, Connecting for Health and the Information Centre for health and social care; details of advisory groups.

Access keys