Skip to content


Welsh Government


Welsh Government Cabinet

The Welsh Government is the devolved Government for Wales. We are working to help improve the lives of people in Wales and make our nation a better place in which to live and work.

The Welsh Government consists of:

  • The First Minister
  • Welsh Ministers
  • The Counsel General and
  • Deputy Ministers.

They are supported by Civil Servants who work across devolved areas that include key areas of public life such as health, education and the environment.

We aim to be open and responsive to the needs of citizens and communities and are one of the few governments in the world that publishes Cabinet minutes and papers. Responsibility for most key areas of public life including health, education and environment is devolved.

With new offices across Wales, including Merthyr Tydfil, Aberystwyth and Llandudno Junction, we are getting closer to the people we serve.

On these pages you can find out more about:

  • your Welsh Government
  • its Ministers
  • the organisation and staff, and
  • how things have changed in Wales since devolution in 1999.

Related Links

More information about the members of the Cabinet, their responsibilities and biographical details.
More information about the Deputy Ministers, their responsibilities and biographical details.
Our departments are grouped together into subject areas called Directorates.