This snapshot, taken on
, shows web content acquired for preservation by The National Archives. External links, forms and search may not work in archived websites and contact details are likely to be out of date.
The UK Government Web Archive does not use cookies but some may be left in your browser from archived websites.

How the Institutional Quality Standards support schools’ self-evaluation and planning

The IQS has three level descriptors:

  • Entry
  • Developing
  • Exemplary

Each relates to a level of current practice and is linked to an Ofsted rating.

Entry – the school has a baseline standard of practice, with scope for continuous improvement. (Ofsted - satisfactory)

Developing – the school is effective in meeting pupils' needs and has scope within its practice for reinforcement, development and further improvement. (Ofsted - good)

Exemplary – the school has exceptional and sustained practice with the scope for dissemination beyond the school/college and for continuous improvement as best practice evolves nationally. (Ofsted - outstanding)

To move to the next higher level a school must already have fulfilled and continue to fulfil the standard for the previous level. The descriptors for 'Developing' and 'Exemplary' levels therefore state the additional practice and/or further development required.