This snapshot, taken on
, shows web content acquired for preservation by The National Archives. External links, forms and search may not work in archived websites and contact details are likely to be out of date.
The UK Government Web Archive does not use cookies but some may be left in your browser from archived websites.

News Story

Training Quality Standard officially launched


Skills minister David Lammy officially launched the Training Quality Standard on the 8th May 2008 at an event at the Hilton London Metropole.

David Lammy on stage delivering TQS speach

Speaking at the launch, David Lammy said:

“I am delighted to congratulate the providers who have achieved the Training Quality Standard.  Training is at the heart of any successful enterprise and by bringing training providers and employers together to deliver economically valuable skills and qualifications we will make high quality training accessible for all. 

The Training Quality Standard will be a mark that employers can trust and I hope many more providers will, in time, go on to achieve it.”

A unique attribute of the Training Quality Standard is that it is not attached to public funding or investment and is open to both publicly and privately funded organisations providing workforce training solutions at all levels, including Higher Education, Apprenticeships and Train to Gain as well as bespoke and non accredited training.

Jaine Clarke, Director of Skills for Employers, LSC, said:

“Crucial to increasing employer investment in the skills of their workforce is the ability to identify and select training providers who can deliver high quality, flexible and responsive provision that is directly relevant and addresses the skills gaps in their business - the Training Quality Standard will take the guesswork and the pain out of the process for employers.

“I hope the achievement of these employers and training providers motivates others to follow suit and work towards achieving the Training Quality Standard.”
More information about the Training Quality Standard including a list of those providers that have achieved certification is available on this website.