Website of the UK government

Please note that this website has a UK government accesskeys system.

Public services all in one place

Main menu

Vocational qualifications

Vocational qualifications are work-related qualifications. They’re designed to allow you to learn in a way that suits you, and give you the skills that employers are looking for. There are lots to choose from, in a wide range of subjects. Find out how these flexible qualifications work.

Can't see the video?


To play this video you need Adobe Flash Player version 9 or higher on your computer and have JavaScript enabled on your browser. Our Help with video files page gives advice if you are unsure how to do this. The Flash software is free.

How vocational qualifications can help you

Vocational qualifications can help you:

  • get the skills you need to start a job
  • progress in your career
  • go on to to further learning

Vocational qualification levels

All vocational qualifications are grouped together in different levels on the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF). The level shows how difficult each qualification is – from entry level right up to level 8.

Vocational qualification levels can be compared to other qualifications. Entry level qualifications build confidence and help people prepare for further learning and work. Level 2 qualifications are the equivalent of grades A* to C at GCSE and level 3 qualifications are equivalent to A levels.

The title of a vocational qualification tells you:

  • the qualification level - from entry level to Level 8
  • the size of the qualification - an award, certificate or diploma
  • the subject you’re studying - such as sport and active leisure

Qualifications you could gain include:

  • Level 1 Award in Retail Skills
  • Level 4 Diploma in Accounting.
  • Level 3 Certificate in Photography

Learn in a way that suits you

  • fit learning around your work and home life
  • learn in small chunks, at your own pace

The size of the qualification

Vocational qualifications are made up of units of study. You can study units at your own pace. These can then build into qualifications that are right for you.

Each unit has a credit value that tells you roughly how long it takes to complete – one credit represents about 10 hours’ work.

Every QCF qualification is made up of a number of credits:

  • Awards are 1 to 12 credits (10 and 120 hours’ learning)
  • Certificates are 13 to 36 credits (130 to 360 hours’ learning)
  • Diplomas are 37 credits (370 or more hours’ learning)

So if you are doing a Level 1 Certificate in sport and active leisure you may choose a unit on how the body works, which has a credit value of four. This would take you around 40 hours to complete.

The subject you’re studying

Vocational qualifications are available in a wide range of subjects which relate to different jobs and industries, such as:

• health and social care
• retail and distribution
• hair and beauty
• business and management
• food, catering and leisure services
• construction and property

Find the right vocational qualification for you

Choosing what to study

A qualification is made up of a number of units which you need to complete. You can usually choose some units but others will be compulsory. This will give you the chance to build a qualification that suits your personal circumstances, interests and skills.

Making previous study count

If the qualification you want to study includes units you’ve already completed for another qualification, you can transfer the credit you’ve gained to your new qualification. You don’t have to take these units again.

Combining learning from different places

Units are portable and are available from a wide range of learning providers including employers, across England, Northern Ireland and Wales. You can combine units from training at work and units from training at college to gain a qualification.

You can also complete a unit in one part of the UK, and then combine it with other units taken elsewhere in the UK.

Existing vocational qualifications

Vocational qualifications include names you may already be familiar with, such as:

• BTECs, City & Guilds and OCR Nationals
• NVQs (National Vocational Qualifications)
• HNCs (Higher National Certificates) and HNDs (Higher National Diplomas)

You could gain a BTEC Award, Certificate and Diploma at level 1 to 7, an NVQ at level 1 to 5 or an HND at level 5.

Qualifications help and advice

Advice for young people

For advice on learning and qualifications for 13 to 19 year olds, contact Connexions Direct.

  • Call an adviser on 0808 00 13 2 19

The 'It's your choice: options after 16' section has information about options after Year 11.

Advice for adult learners

Get advice about qualifications for adult learners from Next Step.

  • Call Next Step on 0800 100 900

Other sources of advice

You can also get advice from your school, college, employer or careers adviser.

Was this information useful?

How useful did you find this information?

500 character limit
Your Privacy Opens new window

Why are we asking for this information?

  • we want to hear what you think about the quality and usefulness of our pages
  • your comments will help us improve our pages
  • your comments will also help with the future development of Directgov
  • telling us what you think will help make sure we give you the very best service

Additional links

Get advice

For advice on Money to learn call 0800 121 8989

Access keys