Joint Committee

The Joint Committee leads JNCC and has overall responsibility for its work. The Accountability Framework Document, Management Statement and Financial Memorandum provide the legal, administrative and financial framework within which the Joint Committee operates.


The membership of the Committee is defined in schedule 4 of the Natural Environment and Rural Communities (NERC) Act 2006. Current members are as follows:


The Committee meets quarterly in March, June, September and December. Members discuss strategic nature conservation and organisational issues as well as making high-level advice, strategy, funding and planning decisions.


The Committee is committed to the principle of open government and has been holding open meetings since 2001. Members of the public are welcome to attend meetings as observers except when confidential issues are being discussed. Agendas and Committee papers are made available one week ahead of meetings and draft minutes six weeks later. Inter-sessional papers, provided between Committee meetings, are also available. Meetings are run in accordance with a set of Standing Orders.


Meetings are held at Monkstone House, Peterborough.

If you would like to attend, please phone on 01733 562626 or



Members of the Joint Nature Conservation Committee as at 1 April 2010

Dr Peter Bridgewater


Professor Lynda Warren

Deputy Chair/Independent
Council for Nature Conservation and the Countryside
Dr Bob Brown Independent
Chairman, Council for Nature Conservation and the Countryside
Mr Poul Christensen CBE
Chairman, Natural England
Mr David Crawley Scottish Natural Heritage
Mr Guy Duke Independent
Professor David Hill Natural England
Countryside Council for Wales
Mr Morgan Parry Chairman, Countryside Council for Wales
Mr David Pritchard
Chairman, Scottish Natural Heritage
Judith Webb Independent


| JNCC - Adviser to Government on Nature Conservation | Site Map | Search | Legal | Feedback | List Access Keys |