Civil Contingencies Act 2004: List of Responders

Schedule 1 of the Civil Contingencies Act lists the reponders subject to its provisions. As described in Annex 1A, the Act splits local responders in to two categories and imposes a different set of requirements on each category. Category 1 and 2 responders in England and Wales are listed below.

Section 13 of the Act enables Ministers to amend the list of responders with the agreement of Parliament.

Category 1 responders ("core responders")

Emergency services

  • Police forces
  • British Transport Police
  • Fire authorities
  • Ambulance services
  • Maritime and Coastguard Agency

Local authorities

  • All principal local authorities (i.e. metropolitan districts, shire counties, shire districts, shire unitaries)
  • Port Health Authorities

Health bodies

  • Primary Care Trusts
  • Acute Trusts
  • Foundation Trusts
  • Local Health Boards (in Wales)
  • Any Welsh NHS Trust which provides public health services
  • Health Protection Agency

Government agencies

  • Environment Agency

Category 2 responders ("co-operating responders")


  • Electricity distributors and transmitters
  • Gas distributors
  • Water and sewage undertakers
  • Telephone service providers (fixed and mobile)


  • Network Rail
  • Train Operating Companies (passenger and freight)
  • London Underground
  • Transport for London
  • Airport operators
  • Harbour authorities
  • Highways Agency

Health bodies

  • Strategic Health autorities

Government agencies

  • Health and Safety Executive