Detailed Information

North Yorkshire

The total resident population is almost 813,000, with the principal urban areas being York (population 181,326), Scarborough (population 52,000) and Harrogate (population 70,000).

The remainder of the county is sparsely populated with only three towns with a population of over 15,000 people. The county has a minority ethnic population of 1.3%.  Unemployment is below the national average of 3.7% at 2.2%.



The Criminal Justice System (CJS) agencies

North Yorkshire Police

has approximately 1,600 police officers and 875 police support staff. For policing purposes, North Yorkshire is split into three Area Command Units (ACUs) – Eastern, Central and Western. These are, in turn, split into Districts, which correspond to the District/Borough Council boundaries. There are a total of 35 police stations across the county, and North Yorkshire Police Headquarters is located at Newby Wiske, near Northallerton.



The Crown Prosecution Service (CPS)

The CPS is responsible for prosecuting people who have been charged by the police with a criminal offence. The Headquarters for the North Yorkshire Area is in York, with a Criminal Justice Unit (CJU) in York/Harrogate, a Trials Unit (TU) in York and a combined CJU/TU in Scarborough, which is co-located with North Yorkshire Police at Scarborough Police Station. The Area employs a total of 67 staff.



Her Majesty's Courts Service

HMCS looks after the Crown Courts and Magistrates' Courts across the country. There is one Crown Court in North Yorkshire (at York) and six Magistrates’ Courts (at Harrogate, Northallerton, Scarborough, Selby, Skipton and York). North Yorkshire has its own local chief officer, who is responsible for the administration of the courts in both North and West Yorkshire.



Youth Offending Teams (YOTs)

There are two YOTs within North Yorkshire. The York YOT deals with young offenders within the City of York. The North Yorkshire YOT covers the remainder of the county and employs staff at four office locations, with their two main operational bases being at Harrogate and Scarborough. The primary aim of the YOTs is to prevent young people from breaking the law. They achieve this by promoting constructive alternatives for young people, and by confronting the attitudes, behaviour and circumstances of those young people who do offend.



The National Probation Service

Within North Yorkshire, the National Probation Service has 266 staff, based in six offices (Harrogate, Northallerton, Selby, Scarborough, Skipton and York). The Probation Service works with offenders to protect the public and cut crime. They work to ensure public safety and the proper punishment of offenders by effective supervision in the community.  At any one time North Yorkshire Probation Service are supervising approximately 500 offenders on Community Rehabilitation Orders, 400 offenders on Community Punishment Orders, and approximately 200 offenders on court orders which combine both these penalties.



HM Prison Service

HMPS serves the public by keeping in custody those committed by the courts. They also seek to help offenders lead law-abiding and useful lives in custody and after release. The Prison Service has divided England and Wales into thirteen Areas. The county of North Yorkshire falls within the wider 'Yorkshire and Humberside' Area. There are two prison establishments within North Yorkshire : Askham Grange (York), and Northallerton.



Victim Support

Victim Support is the national charity which helps people affected by crime. Victim Support North Yorkshire helps residents cope with the effects of crime. It does this by providing confidential support and information to victims of crime and to witnesses attending local courts. The services are free, independent of the police and courts, and available to everyone, whether or not the crime has been reported and regardless of when it happened.