This snapshot, taken on
, shows web content acquired for preservation by The National Archives. External links, forms and search may not work in archived websites and contact details are likely to be out of date.
The UK Government Web Archive does not use cookies but some may be left in your browser from archived websites.
Home / First–tier Tribunal

First–tier Tribunal

What is the First–tier Tribunal?

The First–tier Tribunal is a generic tribunal established by Parliament under the Tribunals, Courts and Enforcement Act 2007.

The First–tier Tribunal has jurisdiction over a range of appeals formerly heard by:

What has changed?

Important: Some of the rules are different from the rules that formerly applied to appeals being heard by individual tribunals. See summary of the most important changes above.

How does it work?

The First–tier Tribunal is currently divided into six chambers:

The following list sets out which chamber deals with which appeals formerly heard by a separate tribunal:

The General Regulatory Chamber

Social Entitlement Chamber

Health, Education and Social Care Chamber

Tax Chamber

War Pensions and Armed Forces Compensation Chamber

Immigration and Asylum Chamber