Latest news

News Archives

Picture of holding hands

First–tier Tribunal (Mental Health)

The First–tier Tribunal (Mental Health) hears applications and references for people detained under the Mental Health Act 1983 (as amended by the Mental Health Act 2007).

Our Tribunal judiciary and members are appointed by the Lord Chancellor. Our jurisdiction covers the whole of England. The Tribunal sits within the Health, Education and Social Care Chamber of the First Tier Tribunal.

The Chamber President is His Honour Judge Phillip Sycamore who is based in Manchester. The Deputy Chamber President responsible for the Mental Health Tribunal is Judge Mark Hinchliffe who is based in Manchester. Judge John Wright is the Principal Judge who is based in Preston.

There is a separate Mental Health Tribunal for Wales, which is administered and based in Cardiff and a separate Mental Health Review Tribunal for Scotland.

Scotland & Wales contact details
Scotland Office External link icon
Wales Office