Access key links:

Finance and governance of Regional Development Agencies

Description of contributions of Government Departments to Single Budget, and allocation of that budget to RDAs.

The Regional Development Agencies (RDAs) are financed through a Single Budget, a fund which pools money from all the contributing Government Departments (BIS, CLG, DECC, DEFRA, DCMS and UKTI). BIS is the sponsor Department.

The RDAs’ outturn for 2008–09 and allocated budgets for 2009-10 and 2010-11 are set out below. These take account of all changes that have been agreed with the RDAs post-CSR 2007 Settlement.

Any future funding of the RDAs will be part of the Spending Review 2010, expected to be announced in October.

 Total RDA Allocation by Region 2008-09
£ million (Outturn) 
£ million (Outturn) 
£ million (Budget) 
Budget per Head (£)
Advantage West Midlands  296  296  163  30
East of England Development Agency  131  133  78  14
East Midlands Development Agency  160  161  95  21
London Development Agency  346  376  275  36
North West Development Agency  383  393  234  34
One NorthEast  240      247  186  72
South East England Development Agency  160  166  96  11
South West of England Regional Development Agency  169          159  115  22
Yorkshire Forward  292  320  174  33
TOTAL [Single Budget] 2,177  2,249 1,415


Download the data from this table: Regional Development Agencies - Outturn Data 2005 to 2011 (CSV, 932 bytes) 

In addition to their Single Budget, the RDAs have taken over management of the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF) and the Rural Development Programme for England (RDPE). Both programmes running from 2007 to 2013 and together amount to £9bn. Associated administration costs have been provided by CLG (£6m) and DEFRA (£4m), included in all three years.

As part of the CSR 2007, the RDAs budgets over the three years were reduced by 2.5% (£320m). In addition, the RDAs identified cash savings of about £350m, which will be funded from value for money savings.