This snapshot, taken on
03/02/2011
, shows web content acquired for preservation by The National Archives. External links, forms and search may not work in archived websites and contact details are likely to be out of date.
 
 
The UK Government Web Archive does not use cookies but some may be left in your browser from archived websites.
The National Archives
Search The National Archives
Advanced search
The National Archives Logo
Guide reference: Overseas Records Information 38
Last updated: 10 March 2008

1. Introduction

The records in The National Archives are arranged according to the government departments and other organisations that created them. The largest and most important collections relating to China are the records of the Foreign Office (FO), and its successor the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (FCO). Records of the service departments, that is the Admiralty (ADM), the War Office (WO), the Air Ministry (AIR), and the Ministry of Defence (DEFE), relating to China are less extensive; some however are of considerable importance. The records of these departments are not in general arranged as conveniently as those of the Foreign Office for the purpose of identifying material relating to China. The records of the Cabinet Office (CAB) and the Prime Minister's Office (PREM) both contain material of great importance, though limited volume. Treasury records (T) are essential to understanding financial, commercial and economic conditions, and the records of the Board of Trade (BT), especially those of the Commercial Department, may be used to complement this picture.

Some material may be found in the records of other departments and a keyword search of the Catalogue should provide some references. However, apart from the Colonial Office records for Hong Kong and Wei Hai Wei (see below), they are unlikely to add much more of significance.

This brief guide is restricted almost entirely to matters relating specifically to China, Hong Kong and Wei Hai Wei, rather than to Chinese interests elsewhere in the world. Material relating to Chinese interests in the Far East and South-East Asia, and to the migration of Chinese to other regions, may be found in record series relating to those territories. Home Office records include papers relating to the naturalisation of Chinese migrants to the UK. Details of individuals known to have served in British military units or in the merchant navy may be found in the general series of service records - explanatory leaflets are available at Kew or through The National Archives' website.

The following sections identify the more important series relating to China. Most of the Foreign Office series included relate wholly to China. In the case of other government departments, most of the record series listed are of a more general nature with only scattered references to China.

This guide is concerned primarily with the period from the late 18th century until the 1970s.

2. Foreign Office

The Foreign Office was established as a separate department of state in 1782. Records relating to the conduct of foreign affairs from the reign of Henry VIII to 1781 are held among records formerly in the State Paper Office, and are known from 1547 as State Papers Foreign (SP). For details see Louise Atherton, 'Never Complain, Never Explain': records of the Foreign Office and State Paper Office 1500-c.1960 (1994).

The records comprising the Foreign Office department code (FO) fall into three major categories

  • records of the Foreign Office itself (despatches from British representatives abroad, and drafts of replies; communications from foreign diplomats in London, and from other British Government departments; minutes; memoranda; treaty papers and so on)
  • records of British embassies and consulates abroad, returned periodically to London
  • private papers of diplomats, officials and ministers

For further information see: Michael Roper, The records of the Foreign Office 1782-1968 (Public Record Office Handbooks, XIII, 2002).

2.1 Foreign Office records

The records of the Foreign Office itself can be divided into two chronological collections: before 1906, and 1906 to 1966. Until 1906, there is a series for each country with which the UK had diplomatic relations. For China it is FO 17 covering the period from 1815 to 1905. The original means of reference to this record series are Registers of General Correspondence, FO 566, indexed by FO 738, and Registers and Indexes to General Correspondence, FO 605, which are available on microfilm.

From 1906 until 1966 the Foreign Office records are arranged into subject series - political, commercial, consular, and so on. Of these the most important are the political general papers in FO 371, which contains several thousand files relating to China. For the period from 1906 to 1919 there is a card index to Foreign Office correspondence in most of the subject series, which serves as a means of reference to the surviving files. From 1920 until 1951 it is necessary to use the Indexes to Foreign Office General Correspondence, 1920 to 1951, which are available in the Open Reading Room at The National Archives. These indexes have been reprinted by Kraus International Publications, and may be available through academic or other reference libraries. In addition, there are photocopied index volumes in a similar format for 1952, 1953 and 1959. When using both the card index and the printed index it is important to be aware that the indexes were created at the time the records were current, and that by no means all the items indexed have been selected for permanent preservation.

Many of the more important papers from FO 17 and FO 371 were printed for circulation within the Foreign Office, to Cabinet Ministers, and to diplomats. Those concerning China are FO 405 (Confidential print, China 1848 to 1957), and FO 436 (Confidential Print, Far Eastern Affairs 1937 to 1957). Further copies of prints for the period to 1914 are in FO 881. FO 415 is Foreign Office: Confidential Print Opium, 1910-1941.

There is also material relating to China in FO 83 (Correspondence before 1906, Great Britain and General); FO 95, (Political and Other Departments: Miscellanea, Series I); FO 96 (Political and Other Departments: Miscellanea, Series II); and FO 97 (Political and Other Departments: Supplements to General Correspondence before 1906).

2.2 Embassy and consular archives

As well as correspondence with the Foreign Office, the Embassy and Consular Archives contain correspondence with the Chinese authorities and others in China, some registers of births, marriages and deaths of British nationals in China, deeds and registers of property, records relating to extra-territorial jurisdiction, and such other records as consulates were required to keep. Communication with the Chinese authorities was in Chinese, and though such communications were always translated into English before being attended to, many of the originals and copies of British replies in Chinese have survived.

The survival rate of the embassy records is high, that of the consulates much less so.

Peking (Beijing) Legation and Embassy Archives - Record series Description
1834-1930: Consulates and Legation, China: General Correspondence, Series 1

1836-1853: Consulates and Legation, China; General Correspondence, Duplicates
1834-1917: Consulates and Legation, China: Letter Books
1836-1945: Consulates and Legation, China; Registers of Correspondence
1843-1937: Consulates and Legation, China; Indexes to Correspondence
1727-1951: Consulates and Legation, China: Miscellaneous Papers and Reports
1875-1972: Foreign Office and Foreign and Commonwealth Office: Various Embassies and Legations, China: General Correspondence, Series II
1759-1874: Foreign Office: Superintendent of Trade, Legation, Peking, China: General Correspondence and Diaries
1861-1939: Foreign Office: Chinese Secretary's Office, Various Embassies and Consulates, China: General Correspondence
1840-1938: Foreign Office: Chinese Secretary's Office, Peking [Beijing] and predecessors: Chinese Registers of Correspondence
1833-1951: Foreign Office: Chinese Secretary's Office, Embassy and Legation, Peking [Beijing], China: Miscellanea

Consul
Record series Description
Amoy 1834-1951: Foreign Office: Consulate, China: General Correspondence
Canton 1844-1851: Foreign Office: Consulate, China: Miscellanea
Chefoo 1860-1941: Foreign Office: Consulate, China: Inventories
Chengtu 1902-1945: Foreign Office: Consulate, China: Various Registers
Chinkiang 1871-1925: Foreign Office: Consulate, China: General Correspondence
Foochow 1846-1946: Foreign Office: Consulate, China: General Correspondence and Various Registers
Hankow and Hangchow 1865-1951: Foreign Office: Consulates, China: General Correspondence and Various Registers
Ichang 1979-1941: Foreign Office: Consulate, China: General Correspondence and Various Registers.
Kunming 1945-1951: Foreign Office: Consulate, China: Various Registers and Lease Agreement
Newchwang 1865-1868: Foreign Office: Consulate, China: General Correspondence
Ningpo 1843-1933: Foreign Office: Consulate, China: General Correspondence and Various Registers
Peking (Bejing) 1902-1950: Foreign Office: Consulate and Legation, China: General Correspondence
 

1901-1947: Foreign Office: Consulate and Legation, China: Registers of Correspondence

  1905-1931: Foreign Office: Legation, China: Miscellanea
  1874-1926: Foreign Office: Legation, China: Registers of Births, Deaths and Marriages
Shanghai 1862-1939: Foreign Office: Supreme Court, China: General Correspondence
  1845-1955: Foreign Office: Consulate, China: General Correspondence
  1836-1864: Foreign Office: Consulate, China: Miscellanea
  1914-1949: Foreign Office: Consulate, China: Register of Companies
  1857-1941: Foreign Office: Supreme Court, China: Probate Records
  1865-1941: Foreign Office: Shanghai Court, China: Judges' and Magistrates' Notebooks
Tientsin 1860-1952: Foreign Office: Consulate, China, Various Registers and Supreme Court Records
Various Consulates 1837-1959: Foreign Office, China: Deeds
  1853-1953: Foreign Office: China: Registers of Deeds
  1854-1942: Foreign Office: China: Land Registers
  1861-1951: Foreign Office: China: Registers of Births, Deaths and Marriages

2.3 Treaties

For the modern period original treaties are in two main record series.

Record series Description
FO 93 1695-2000: Protocols of Treaties
FO 94 1782-2000: Ratifications of Treaties

 

2.4 Private papers

A collection of papers of ministers and officials is in the series FO 800 (Private Offices: Various Ministers' and Officials' Papers, 1824-1968), which is available on microfilm.. There are many other individual series of private papers. The following have some relevance to China.

Record series Description
FO 350 1901-1919: Jordan Papers. Incomplete set of correspondence (mainly with the Foreign Office) of Sir John Newall Jordan as Envoy Extraordinary and Minister Plenipotentiary to Peking (Beijing) 1906-1920

FO 391 c.1858-1880: Hammond Papers. Correspondence of Rt. Hon. Edmund (afterwards Lord) Hammond, permanent Secretary at the Foreign Office, with Sir Rutherford Alcock, Sir Daniel Brooke Robertson, Sir Harry Smith Parkes and Sir Thomas Francis Wade
FO 705 c.1841-1845: Pottinger Papers. Private and semi-official correspondence of Sir Henry Pottinger, envoy, plenipotentiary and superintendent of British trade in China
PRO 30/33 c.1900-1906: Satow Papers. Private and semi-official correspondence, diaries, papers etc of Sir Ernest Mason Satow, envoy to China 1900-1906

2.5 Kwangtung (Guangdong) provincial archives

The large collection of documents in Chinese that was returned from the British Embassy in Peking to London in 1959 and placed in the then Public Record Office were originally allocated a single record series, Documents in the Chinese Language, with the reference FO 682. On closer examination, it became clear that although the bulk of the collection consisted of documents that were the authentic archives of successive British missions in China. Part of the collection, some 2000 documents, were records of the Chinese authorities captured by the British in Canton in 1858, which had become mixed with the missions' archives in the Chinese Secretary's Office, where they had been stored for convenience.

These documents were subsequently extracted from the collection, allocated to the record series Kwangtung Provincial Archives (FO 931) and catalogued by David Pong in A critical guide to the Kwangtung Provincial Archives deposited at the Public Record Office of London (1967), the introduction to which discusses their provenance and nature. All of these records have been microfilmed.

3. Foreign and Commonwealth Office

The Foreign Office merged with the Commonwealth Office in October 1968, but the two departments ran a joint registry system from January 1967. From that date the main series for correspondence concerning China is FCO 21, Records of the Far Eastern Department. References to China will also be found among the records of other geographical and subject departments, and can be identified using the the Catalogue (www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/catalogue). A breakdown of the responsibilities of departments within the Foreign and Commonwealth Office can be found in the annual Diplomatic Service List.

4. Admiralty

4.1 Station records

These are records of local squadron or fleet commanders. Until 1864 China came within the East Indies Station. In that year a separate China Station was established. The records now in the China Station series go back to 1828 however, and there is little about China in the East India Station records.

Record Series Description
ADM 125 1828-1946: Admiralty. China Station Correspondence
ADM 126 1856-1914: Admiralty. China Station Indexes to correspondence

4.2 Admiralty Secretariat records

Records of the Board of Admiralty, covering all aspects of naval administration. Information about China is scattered throughout the following series and can be extensive for some subjects. A search of the Catalogue (www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/catalogue) for the 'Yangtse incident' using the search term 'Yangtse OR Amethyst', for example, will produce a large number of references.

Record Series Description
ADM 1 1660-1976: Admiralty, and Ministry of Defence, Navy Department: Correspondence and Papers. Indexes and digests, which provide an essential means of reference, are in ADM 12
ADM 7 1563-1953: Admiralty: Miscellanea
ADM 116 1852-1963: Admiralty Record Office: Cases
ADM 137 1860-1937: Admiralty: Historical Section: Records used for the Official History of the First World War

Further material scattered among other series can be identified through the Catalogue (www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/catalogue) by the use of appropriate search terms.

5. Air Ministry

The following is not a comprehensive list, but provides an indication of the type of material relating to China which may be found. Further material may be identified through the Catalogue (www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/catalogue).

5.1 AIR 8 - Chief of Staff papers

Record series Description
AIR 8/747 1945-1946: China: airfields
AIR 8/940-941 1941-1946: Air Assistance and co-operation
AIR 8/1274 1944-1945: Transfer of forces from Burma to China

5.2 AIR 9 - Director of Plans

Record series Description
AIR 9/52 1925-1937: China
AIR 9/405-409 1942-1945: Supplies and assistance

5.3 AIR 23 - Overseas Commands

Record series Description
AIR 23/1916 1941: China Station: Anglo-Dutch American conversations
AIR 23/3233 1941: China Station: plans in event of war with Japan
AIR 23/7756-7760 1927: RAF Shanghai Defence Force

5.4 AIR 29 - Operations record books: miscellaneous units

Record series Description
AIR 29/709, AIR 29/1139, AIR 29/1192 1936-1944: Chinese Air Force: training, organizations, operations, losses etc.

5.5 AIR 40 - Director of Intelligence

Record series Description
AIR 40/339-344 1943-1946: Chinese Training Units: Lahore, Walton, Chengtu
AIR 40/1353-1373 1930-1941: Chinese Air Force: training, organizations, operations, losses etc.
AIR 40/1444-1450, AIR 40/1454 1942-1946: Chinese Air Force: training, organizations, 1454 operations, losses etc.
AIR 40/2124-2125 1942-1944: Aircraft production
AIR 40/2181 1939-1944: Japanese air operations in China, Burma and East Indies
AIR 40/2381 1946: Chinese Air Force: report
AIR 40/2384 1947: Chinese Communist Air Force: notes

6. War Office

The following is not a comprehensive list, but provides an indication of the type of material relating to China which may be found. Further material may be identified through the Catalogue (www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/catalogue).

6.1 WO 1 - Secretary at War, Secretary of State for War, and Commander in Chief: in-letters and miscellaneous papers

Record series Description
WO 1/461-480 Relates to China (Hong Kong) and covers the period 1842-1852

6.2 WO 28 - Headquarters' records

Record series Description
WO 28/272 1843-1857: General Orders: China
WO 28/300 1840-1844: China expedition: orders, proceedings, courts martial etc
WO 28/302 1900: Boxer Rebellion: reports and photographs

6.3 WO 32 - War Office registered files

These records cover the administration of the British Army throughout the world, and include reports about campaigns in which it was involved. The series is arranged by subject codes. The following are particularly relevant: O/J China, O/AT Far East, 46 Narratives of operations. O/AT includes some files about Hong Kong and Kowloon during the Second World War.

O/J includes about 160 files relating to Chinese affairs from 1857-1950, and covering such varied matters as the capture of Canton 1857, the China Expedition 1900, the operation of brothels in the International Settlement in Shanghai 1927-1935, and reports of Semenoff's White Russia Movement c.1928.

Code 46 contains extensive reports on the Tsingtao Expedition 1914-1915.

6.4 WO 95 - First World War and Army of Occupation war diaries

WO 95 contains a number of relevant First World War war diaries (search the Catalogue (www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/catalogue) using 'China OR Chinese').

6.5 WO 100 - Campaign medal and award rolls

WO 100 includes medal entitlements for British military operations in China in 1900, including awards to Chinese regiments, volunteers and interpreters.

6.6 WO 106 - Directorate of Military Operations and Intelligence: papers

About 340 volumes and files that relate to China, from 1883 to the end of the Second World War. They include papers on French operations in Annan and China 1883-1886, Revolutions and Civil War 1902-1912, China in the First World War, Sino Japanese hostilities 1935-1939, the Second World War, and notes on some seventy Chinese and foreign personalities from 1920-1940, including Sun Yat Sen, Dr Wellington Koo, 'General' Sutton and Dr Ritter van Kreittner.

6.7 WO 191 - War diaries and headquarters records, peacetime operations

Record series Description
WO 1/461-480 Relates to China (Hong Kong) and covers the period 1842-1852

6.8 WO 203 - Military headquarters papers, Far East, Second World War

About 200 files relating to China are scattered through this series, forexample:

Record series Description
WO 203/314 1944: Build up of US and Chinese Forces 1944
WO 203/4377 1943-1946: Chinese Liaison Mission, correspondence
WO 203/4390-4391 1944-1945: 204 Military Mission to Chungking, correspondence 1944-1945
WO 203/5623 1944-1945: British Embassy, Chungking, demi-official correspondence and political dispatches

6.9 WO 208 - Director of Military Intelligence

About 200 pieces, mainly within WO 208/177-499 and WO 208/2862-2894 , that relate to China, and primarily to the Second World War period. Includes notes on personalities 1924-1944, for example Chiang Kai-Shek and Yang Sen.

6.10 WO 273 - Narrative of British Operations in China, 1840-1842 by Major JS Rothwell

This Intelligence Branch record series contains two files.

7. Ministry of Defence

The following is not a comprehensive list, but provides an indication of the type of material relating to China which may be found. Further material may be identified through the Catalogue (www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/catalogue) or through the expanded catalogues to DEFE 4 (Ministry of Defence: Chiefs of Staff Committee: Minutes, 1947-1973), DEFE 5 (Ministry of Defence: Chiefs of Staff Committee: Memoranda, 1947-1973), and DEFE 6 (Chiefs of Staff Committee: Reports of the Joint Planning Staff and successors, 1947-1968), which are on open shelves in the Open Reading Room at The National Archives.

Record Series Description
DEFE 7/599-600 1948-1960: Chinese request for jurisdiction of Walled City of Kowloon
DEFE 7/886 1957-1964: Export of goods on the Atomic Energy List to China
DEFE 7/1805 1954-1955: Publicity for Chinese and North Korean Communist treatment of British prisoners of war in Korea
DEFE 44/24 1958: Science in China
DEFE 64/27 1969: Airfields in China

8. Prime Minister's Office

The records of the Prime Minister's Office include a considerable amount of material about British relations with China and other matters. The documents listed below are examples only; additional material may be identified by using the Catalogue (www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/catalogue).

8.1 PREM 1 - Correspondence and papers to 1940

Record series Description
PREM 1/303 1939: Loans to China
PREM 1/314 1937-1939: Japanese aggression in China
PREM 1/316 1939: Tientsin incident

8.2 PREM 3 - Operational papers, Second World War

Record series Description
PREM 3/90/1-5B 1940-1945; Operations, supplies, lend lease etc.
PREM 3/143/1 1942 June: Report on situation in China
PREM 3/143/6 1943 January: Messages exchanged with Chiang Kai-Shek
PREM 3/148/6 1943-1944: Use of Yunnan force
PREM 3/158/5 1943: Special Military Representatives with Chiang Kai- Shek

8.3 PREM 4 - Confidential papers, Second World War

Record series Description
PREM 4/28/4-9 Various; including Parliamentary delegation to China 1942-1943 and messages exchanged with Chiang Kai-Shek 1940-1945

8.4 PREM 8 - Correspondence and papers 1945-1951

Record series Description
PREM 8/943-945 1947: Nationalist blockade of Shanghai; HMS Amethyst ; Shanghai situation

8.5 PREM 11 - Correspondence and papers 1951-1964

Record series Description
PREM 11/2237 1958: Chou En-Lai's interviews with Colonel Cantlie, British businessman, and Dr Dutt, retiring Indian

Ambassador to China, on UK-China relations
PREM 11/3204 1961: Correspondence between Prime Minister and Mr Menzies on world affairs with particular reference to admission of China to the UN 1961
PREM 11/4673 1953-1964: Discussion on Chinese membership of UN
PREM 11/5157 1964: East-West trade: sale of aircraft to China; financial guarantees

8.6 PREM 13 - Correspondence and papers 1951-1964

Record series Description
PREM 11/1965 1964,1968: Chinese nuclear weapon development
PREM 11/3533 1964-1970: Admission of China to UN: UK position

8.7 PREM 15 - Correspondence and papers 1970-1974

Record series Description
PREM 15/712 1964,1968: Chinese nuclear weapon development

9. Cabinet Office (CAB)

The CAB series contain the records of the Cabinet since 1916, of its many committees, of the First and Second World War Cabinets, of the Committee of Imperial Defence and its predecessors since 1895, as well as the working files of the Cabinet Office staff. Indexes to the volumes of Cabinet minutes and memoranda (CAB 23 /CAB 24, 1915-1939; CAB 65 /CAB 66, 1939-1945; CAB 128 /CAB 129, 1945-) are available on open access in the Open Reading Room at the National Archives. The following references give examples of other material readily identifiable through the Catalogue (www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/catalogue).

9.1 CAB 21 - Registered files

Record series Description
CAB 21/286 1925: China: disturbances; reinforcements for the Far East
CAB 21/569-570 1939: Situation in Tientsin: Anglo-Japanese relations (microfilmed)
CAB 21/848 1943: Allied three power conference, North Africa, Churchill, Roosevelt, Chiang Kai-Shek
CAB 21/1011-1017 1938-1944: Communications between Burma and China; provision of civil and military supplies
CAB 21/1946-1949 1939-1951: Co-operation against Japan; post-war military and political situation; HMS Amethyst Incident, strategic exports to China

9.2 CAB 27 - Cabinet Committees to 1939

Record series Description
CAB 27/288 1925: Situation in China
CAB 27/337 1926-1927: Situation in China
CAB 27/343 1927: China; military
CAB 27/412 1930: Situation
CAB 27/482 1932: Far East

9.3 CAB 37 - Photographic copies of cabinet papers, c1880-1916

Record series Description
CAB 37/40/59 Schemes of railway extension into China
CAB 37/47/37 Transfer of territory at Wei-hai-wei by China to Great Britain
CAB 27/343 1927: China; military

9.4 CAB 47 - Advisory Committee on trading and blockade in war

Record series Description
CAB 47/7 (part) 1926: Conference on blockade of Canton

9.5 CAB 58 - Economic Advisory Council

Record series Description
CAB 58/155 1930: China: situation

9.6 CAB 134 - Cabinet Committees from 1945

Record series Description
CAB 134/277-291 1945-1951: Far East (Official) Committees
CAB 134/292 1951: Working Party on Economic Sanctions against China
CAB 134/669-670 1949-1950: China and South East Asia Committee

10. Treasury

The more important records of the Treasury consist of three cycles: Treasury papers (T 1) up to 1920; Treasury Finance (T 160) and Supply (T 161) files from 1921 to c.1948; and Treasury Division files from c.1948. (Many files starting before 1948 were re-registered in the new system of division files commenced that year). Of the division files, those of the Overseas Finance Division (T 236) are the most important for China, but material may also be found in other series such as Imperial and Foreign (T 220) and Home and Overseas Planning Staff (T 234).

10.1 T 1 - Treasury papers to 1920

Only part only of this large and valuable series (over 12,000 boxes) has been catalogued. The various printed series of Calendars of Treasury Books and Papers describe in detail most of the contents of T 1 until 1745. For the remainder of the series, access is by means of alphabetical and numerical registers (T 2) which are used in conjunction with skeleton registers in T 3 . Subject registers (T 108) exist for the years 1852-1920 only, and are on open access in the Open Reading Room in The National Archives. For the year 1909 there are 12 files directly relating to Chinese affairs; it can be assumed that this is fairly typical. Subject matter is comparable to that for earlier and later periods: banking, currency, investments, loans, administrative costs, and so on.

10.2 T 160 - Finance files

Relevant material may be found mainly under the headings: 'Countries/China'; 'Finance/Currency/Countries/China'; 'Finance/Loans/Countries/China', but the availability of the Catalogue (www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/catalogue) has made the identification of documents much simpler. Under 'Missions' are two important files covering Sir F Leith Ross' mission 1935-6 (T 160/619 F14233/1-2), and the Economic Mission to China of 1941-42 (T 160/1099 F16829).

10.3 T 161 - Supply files

Under the heading Countries/China there are six files. Most deal with property matters but T 161/252 S27311/1-3 deals with the general situation in China from 1925-1930. Again, the use of the Catalogue (www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/catalogue) will enable the researcher readily to identify additional material in this series.

10.4 T 236 - Overseas Finance Division (Code 23 - China)

Examples of the material in this series are:

Record series Description
T 236/43-50 1943-1946: Credits, lend-lease, transport, claims etc.
T 236/661-684 1930-1947: 1913 loan, currency, investment, Hong Kong
T 236/1810-1813 1946-1949: Currency, investments, policy towards acommunist administration
T 236/4278 1928-1957: Amendment of Hong Kong and Shanghai

Bank ordinances

11. Colonial Office

The Colonial Office was responsible for the administration of Hong Kong and Wei-Hai-Wei during the period when those territories were leased to the UK. The most important record series are as follows:

11.1 Hong Kong

Record series Description
CO 129 Hong Kong: Original correspondence 1841-1951
CO 349 Hong Kong: Register of correspondence 1849-1952
CO 489 Hong Kong: Register of out-letters 1872-1926
CO 403 Hong Kong: Entry Books 1843-1872
CO 130 Hong Kong: Acts 1844-1965
CO 129 Hong Kong: Original correspondence 1841-1951
CO 131 Hong Kong: Sessional papers 1844-1966
CO 132 Hong Kong: Government gazettes 1846-1990
CO 133 Hong Kong: Miscellanea 1844-1940
CO 1023 Hong Kong and Pacific Department: Original Correspondence 1946-1955
CO 1030 Far Eastern Department 1941-1967

11.2 Wei-Hai-Wei

Record series Description
CO 521 Wei-Hai-Wei: Original correspondence 1898-1933
CO 770 Wei-Hai-Wei: Register of correspondence 1898-1931
CO 771 Wei-Hai-Wei: Register of out-letters 1901-1926
CO 841 Wei-Hai-Wei: Acts 1903-1930
CO 744 Wei-Hai-Wei: Government gazettes 1908-1930
CO 873 Wei-Hai-Wei: Commissioner's Files 1899-1930

The original correspondence series are not catalogued in full before 1926 and no detail of their content can be found in the Catalogue (www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/catalogue). Reference is by the registers of correspondence (for Hong Kong before 1849, the general registers in CO 326). For Hong Kong only there are also indexed summaries of incoming correspondence in CO 714. Additional material about these territories will be found among the records of the Colonial Office subject departments, and can be identified through the Catalogue.

For further information about the records of the Colonial Office see Anne Thurston, Sources for Colonial Studies in the Public Record Office: records of the Colonial Office, Dominions Office, Commonwealth Relations Office and Commonwealth office (1995) I.

12. Maps

Maps and plans of China (including Hong Kong and Wei-Hai-Wei) can be found among the map collections in FO 925, CO 700, CO 1047, CO 1054, and WO 78 and also in the map extract series MPD, MPI, MPG, MPH, MPK, MPKK and MFQ. Records of the successive Works Departments (WORK record series) include maps, plans and related files for buildings (primarily diplomatic and other British official properties) in China and Hong Kong. Many other maps and plans remain within volumes and files of correspondence and papers.

13. Further reading

The following recommended publications are available in The National Archives' Library (http://www.library.nationalarchives.gov.uk). Where indicated a publication is also available to buy at The National Archives' Bookshop (www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/bookshop).

  • Louise Atherton, 'Never Complain, Never Explain': records of the Foreign Office and State Paper Office 1500-c.1960 (1994)
  • David Pong, A critical guide to the Kwangtung Provincial Archives deposited at the Public Record Office of London (1967)
  • Michael Roper, The records of the Foreign Office 1782-1968 (Public Record Office Handbooks, XIII, 2002) - Available to buy
  • Anne Thurston, Sources for Colonial Studies in the Public Record Office: records of the Colonial Office, Dominions Office, Commonwealth Relations Office and Commonwealth office (1995) I
Guide reference: Overseas Records Information 38 | Last updated: 10 March 2008
  • Download this guide as a PDF

The Catalogue

Search descriptions of 11 million documents from the UK central government, law courts and other national bodies.