A new UK Government took office on 11 May. As a result the content on this site may not reflect current Government policy.
All statutory guidance and legislation published on this site continues to reflect the current legal position unless indicated otherwise.

About single level tests

QCDA develops and delivers the single level tests pilot on behalf of the DfE. At the moment, only a small number of pilot schools are involved, as well as other stakeholders like Ofqual and local authorities.

June 2010 guidance for pilot schools.

What are single level tests?

Single level tests in English reading, English writing and mathematics, assess knowledge, skills and understanding at a specific, single level (level 3, 4, 5 or 6).

The tests are very flexible – teachers can enter pupils for a test in June or December, when they feel the pupil is ready for it, rather than waiting until the end of key stage 2. They are short – 50 to 60 minutes and marked by external markers at QCDA.

Mathematics results reported

In 2009-10, the results of single level tests in mathematics will be reported as the statutory national curriculum test result for year 6 pupils in single level test pilot schools. Pupils in the pilot schools will not take the end of key stage 2 national curriculum tests in mathematics in May 2010.

Development reports

To find out more about the development and standard-setting activities of the tests, read our report of the first three test sessions: December 2007, June 2008 and December 2008. A report into the June and December 2009 sessions will be available here later this term.

Last modified: 07 Sep 2010