A new UK Government took office on 11 May. As a result the content on this site may not reflect current Government policy.
All statutory guidance and legislation published on this site continues to reflect the current legal position unless indicated otherwise.

14-19 learning

Since 2005 QDCA has worked across the education sector and across the country to turn the government's vision for reform of 14-19 learning into a range of effective qualifications, programmes and initiatives.

About the reform

There are four learning pathways identified for 14- to 19-year-olds, and we've developed a range of new qualifications and projects that sit across all four.

Secondary curriculum

We're providing guidance for schools and evaluating the impact of the secondary curriculum on pupils.

Work-related learning

Economic wellbeing is closely tied to career, work-related learning and enterprise. Read about the framework behind this, and watch video case studies.


Understand the changes to GCSE mathematics, the role of controlled assessment and review some key dates.

A levels

Read the A level performance descriptions, and hear how we're working on the development of qualifications in mathematics.

The Diploma

This exciting new qualification sits alongside GCSEs, A levels and apprenticeships, offering a blend of theoretical and applied learning.

Project qualifications

Foundation, higher and extended project qualifications can be taken alongside other programmes like GCSEs, and their role in the Diploma helps develop knowledge and skills that support progression beyond 14–19 education.

Qualifications and credit framework (QCF)

The QCF is a new way of recognising achievement through the award of credit for units and qualifications.

Functional skills

Functional skills are practical skills in English, information and communication technology (ICT) and mathematics that allow individuals to work confidently, effectively and independently in life.

Foundation learning

This is flexible learning programmes for young people and adults at Entry level and level 1. It's one of the four qualification suites for 14–19 year-old learners alongside GCSEs, Diplomas and Apprenticeships.


Last modified: 31 Mar 2010