[ARCHIVED CONTENT] The Queen and the Commonwealth
This snapshot, taken on
, shows web content acquired for preservation by The National Archives. External links, forms and search may not work in archived websites and contact details are likely to be out of date.
The UK Government Web Archive does not use cookies but some may be left in your browser from archived websites.
Essential maintenance work is being carried out on the UK Government Web Archive. This should not affect access, but in the event that it does, we will resolve it as soon as possible. We apologise for any inconvenience this might cause.
Please email webarchive@nationalarchives.gsi.gov.uk if you require any assistance.
The Queen and the Commonwealth
Her Majesty the Queen by Sydney Harbour Bridge
From Australia to Antigua, Canada to Cameroon, the Commonwealth is a remarkable international organisation, spanning every geographical region, religion and culture. It exists to foster international co-operation and trade links between people all over the world. The Queen is Head of State of 15 Commonwealth realms in addition to the UK. She is also Head of the Commonwealth itself, a voluntary association of 53 independent countries. Find out more about the Commonwealth in this section.
Featured information

The Queen's Commonwealth Day Message, 8 March 2010

Her Majesty talks about the role of science and technology in the Commonwealth

Read The Queen's 2010 Commonwealth Day message
Find out more about Commonwealth Day

The Commonwealth Realms