This snapshot, taken on
, shows web content acquired for preservation by The National Archives. External links, forms and search may not work in archived websites and contact details are likely to be out of date.
The UK Government Web Archive does not use cookies but some may be left in your browser from archived websites.
Text only


You see a variety of vegetarian logos on food labels.

Products carrying the 'Vegetarian Society Approved' logo must fulfil certain requirements laid down by the Vegetarian Society.

But at present, there is no single legal definition of the terms 'vegetarian' or 'vegan' either at European or UK level.

The 'Suitable for Vegetarians' logo is not regulated. It is known as a 'voluntary claim', which means it is illegal for the labelling information to include anything that is false or likely to mislead.