Jump to navigation
NOMS has been restructured to join up prison and probation headquarters as part of the reorganisation of the Ministry of Justice. This website will remain live but will no longer be updated. Up to date information about NOMS can now be found on the Ministry of Justice website.

NOMS regions

East Midlands

The East Midlands Regional Offender Manager's Office are responsible for delivering a reduction in re-offending and the management of offenders in the East Midlands region.

The East Midlands is the fourth largest region in England and Wales and comprises of the cities of Derby, Nottingham, Leicester and Lincoln as well as the six counties of:

  • Derbyshire
  • Leicestershire
  • Lincolnshire
  • Nottinghamshire
  • Northamptonshire
  • Rutland.

The East Midlands is also home to the Peak District National Park.

The region has the second largest prison estate in England and Wales, with 17 establishments. Fifteen establishments are managed by the public sector and two contracted prisons are managed by the private sector. This is more prisons than in the Scottish Prison Service.

The East Midlands has every category of prison other than high security with an operating capacity of just under 10,000. In 2005/6, the five Probation Areas in the region supervised 14,900 offenders in the community.

Explore this section for more on the East Midlands: