Text only

Vegetarian


You see a variety of vegetarian logos on food labels.

Products carrying the 'Vegetarian Society Approved' logo must fulfil certain requirements laid down by the Vegetarian Society.

But at present, there is no single legal definition of the terms 'vegetarian' or 'vegan' either at European or UK level.

The 'Suitable for Vegetarians' logo is not regulated. It is known as a 'voluntary claim', which means it is illegal for the labelling information to include anything that is false or likely to mislead.