Logo for the Government Office for the South West Picture: Canal Wildlife. Paul Sysum
About Us
Contact Us
[ GO Review ] [ Aims and Objectives ] [ Organisation Structure ] [ Corporate Plan ] [ Vacancies ]
Home > About Us

The contents of this website are under review following the formation of a new HM Government. Current information may be found at www.gonetwork.gos.gov.uk.

About Us

Government Office for the South West (GOSW) works with regional partners and local people to help deliver the Government's central aims in the region, to achieve high and stable levels of growth and employment and build an inclusive and prosperous society that can develop in a sustainable way.

From our offices in Bristol and  Plymouth we represent the work and interests of several Government departments. Internet links to these can be found below.  

We are well placed to tackle issues that cut across the boundaries of more than one Whitehall department and as part of central Government, we also inform the development of departments' policies from a regional perspective.
Jon Bright, our Regional Director, heads up seven Directorates: 
  • Children and Learners
  • Organisational Development, Transformation & Resilience
  • Economy, Growth and Regeneration
  • Local Government  
  • Regional Strategies,Housing & Planning
  • Safer and Stronger Communities  
  • Environment, Transport and Climate

The Regional Director of Public Health and the Regional Public Health Group are co-located with GOSW. We also work alongside a small team from the Central Office of Information.

Contact information

Customer Service Team
Corporate Services Directorate
Government Office for the South West
2 Rivergate
Temple Quay
tel: 0117 900 1700
fax: 0117 900 1900
email: swcontactus@gosw.gsi.gov.uk

  Text Only  |  Print View
  Advanced Search
  Feedback on this page
  Go to another region
Go to another region
  Go to National homepage
About Us in
 List item 1  East of England
 List item 2  North West
 List item 3  North East
 List item 4  West Midlands
 List item 5  London
 List item 6  East Midlands
 List item 7  South East
 List item 8  Yorkshire and The Humber

WAI AAA conformance logo, link opens in a new window