This snapshot, taken on
, shows web content acquired for preservation by The National Archives. External links, forms and search may not work in archived websites and contact details are likely to be out of date.
The UK Government Web Archive does not use cookies but some may be left in your browser from archived websites.
Logo for the Government Office for the North East Banner for the Government Office for the North East - Durham Cathedral
About us
Contact us
A-Z Index
Home > Environment and rural

The contents of this website are under review following the formation of a new HM Government. Current information may be found at

Free range organic Jersey Cows near Blagdon, Northumberland

Environment and rural

We promote and facilitate the delivery of government policies in relation to environmental, rural climate change and energy issues within the region. We do this in cooperation with regional agencies, sub-regional partnerships, local authorities, voluntary sector, industry and the wider rural community.

Government Offices promote sustainable development, protect the environment and help rural areas. We make sure the policies of the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Defra) are implemented and properly integrated with the work of other Government departments. More information on the national picture

We work in partnership with these bodies to address the future of farming, develop thriving rural economies and communities, and deliver a countryside for all to enjoy. We also work across the region to coordinate and deliver policy relating to the environment and energy.

Internet links

Contact information

Rural, Environment, Climate Change and Energy
Government Office for the North East
Newcastle upon Tyne
tel: 0191 202 3748
fax: 0191 202 3688

  Text Only  |  Print View
  Advanced Search
  Feedback on this page
  Go to another region
Go to another region
  Go to National homepage
Environment and rural in
 List item 1  South East
 List item 2  North West
 List item 3  West Midlands
 List item 4  South West
 List item 5  East Midlands
 List item 6  East of England
 List item 7  Yorkshire and The Humber
 List item 8  London
 List item 9  National

WAI AAA conformance logo, link opens in a new window