This snapshot, taken on
, shows web content acquired for preservation by The National Archives. External links, forms and search may not work in archived websites and contact details are likely to be out of date.
The UK Government Web Archive does not use cookies but some may be left in your browser from archived websites.

Primary Framework for literacy: Learning objectives

A clearer structure for teaching literacy has been provided by simplifying the structure of the objectives, with the identification of 12 strands of learning, giving a broad overview of the literacy curriculum in the primary phase. Learning objectives are aligned to the 12 strands to demonstrate progression in each strand.

Step 2. Choose the strands

  • Click 'Select' to see all the learning objectives.
  • Click the relevant boxes to select the learning objectives for a single strand or a combination of strands.


Step 3.