Department of Energy and Climate Change

About us

About us

Whitehall Place
Who we are

The Department of Energy and Climate Change (DECC) was created in October 2008, to bring together:

Climate change is not only a massive threat to the global environment, it is also perhaps the greatest economic challenge facing us in the twenty-first century. It demands an urgent and radical response across the developed and developing world.

At the same time, the UK needs to secure clean, safe, affordable energy to heat and power our homes and businesses. Creating a low carbon and resource efficient world means making major structural changes to the way we work and live, including how we source, manage and use our energy.

DECC exists to take the lead in tackling these challenges.

What we do

Our Department reflects the fact that climate change and energy policies are inextricably linked – two thirds of our emissions come from the energy we use. Decisions in one field cannot be made without considering the impacts in the other.

DECC's 7 Departmental Strategic Objectives are:
  1. Secure global commitments which prevent dangerous climate change 
  2. Reduce greenhouse gas emissions in the UK 
  3. Ensure secure energy supplies 
  4. Promote fairness through our climate and energy policies at home and abroad
  5. Ensure the UK benefits from the business and employment opportunities of a low carbon future 
  6. Manage energy liabilities effectively and safely 
  7. Develop the Department’s capability, delivery systems and relationships so that we serve the public effectively


DECC's Autumn Performance Report 2009 was published in January 2010.

To find out more about our work visit our "What we do" pages.

Our Ministers
DECC's ministerial team is as follows:
  • Ed Miliband: Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change
  • Lord Hunt: Minister of State (jointly with the Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs)
  • Joan Ruddock: Minister of State
  • David Kidney: Parliamentary Under Secretary of State

Mike O'Brien, previously a DECC Minister, moved to the Department of Health in the reshuffle of June 2009. The speeches he made while at DECC are on the speeches section of this site.

Our Senior Team

DECC's Permanent Secretary is Moira Wallace. Her biographical details, and those of our Directors General, are available on the Corporate Governance page.

The structure of DECC is set out in the organogram below:

DECC Senior Team Organogram Size: [66 KB] File Type: [.pdf]


Calculate your carbon footprint and get hints on reducing your energy bills.

Become a fan on Facebook.

Link to home page