Access key links:

We're not updating this website or sending email alerts until after the general election on 6 May, in accordance with the rules on election propriety.

Partner organisations

BIS is supported by a wide range of partner organisations in delivering its strategic priorities. Our partners provide services, information and advice to the Department and directly to a wide range of people and organisations.

BIS has four executive agencies: Companies House, the Insolvency Service, the Intellectual Property Office and the National Measurement Office. It has over 100 other partners responsible for key areas, including the 25 Sector Skills Councils, nine Regional Development Agencies and seven Research Councils. Read about how we make public appointments.


  • Advantage West Midlands (RDA)

    The regional development agency (RDA) for the West Midlands. One of nine RDAs in England established to transform the English regions through sustainable economic development.

  • East Midlands Development Agency (EMDA)

    One of nine Regional Development Agencies in England, set up in 1999 by Government to bring a regional focus to economic development.

  • East of England Development Agency (EEDA)

    The East of England Development Agency (EEDA) is the driving force behind sustainable economic growth and regeneration in the East of England.

  • London Development Agency (LDA)

    The Mayor's agency responsible for driving London's sustainable economic growth. It's the LDA's job to ensure that London remains a global success story.

  • North West Development Agency (NWDA)

    The NWDA is a Regional Development Agency whose core purpose is to maximise the region’s competitiveness to build a stronger economy. Competitiveness is the key to England’s Northwest economic success – the essential element in the development of our region’s businesses, its people and its places.


    OFCOM are an independent organisation which regulates the UK’s broadcasting, telecommunications and wireless communications sectors. They also set and enforce rules on fair competition between companies in these industries.

  • Office of Fair Trading (OFT)

    The OFT is the UK's consumer and competition authority. Their mission is to make markets work well for consumers.

  • One North East (RDA)

    One North East is the Regional Development Agency (RDA) covering North East England. They are one of nine RDAs in England that were established to transform the English regions through sustainable economic development.

  • Postcomm

    Postcomm is the independent regulator for postal services in the UK. It's job is to protect the universal service and make sure that postal operators, including Royal Mail, meet the needs of their customers throughout the UK.

  • South East England Development Agency (SEEDA)

    SEEDA has one aim - to support the economic development of its world-class region. It works at a local, regional, national and international level to attract inward investment, to help businesses reach their full potential and to win practical support from a range of partners. It brings funding into the region to help the economic growth of the South East.

  • South West of England Regional Development Agency

    It leads the development of a sustainable economy in the South West, investing to unlock the region's business potential.

  • UK Atomic Energy Authority

    The United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority (the Authority) carries out fusion research in the UK on behalf of Government. In addition, the Authority continues to manage the records service for the Nuclear Decommissioning Authority (NDA) at Harwell, and owns land at both the Harwell and Culham sites in Oxfordshire, where thriving science parks have been set up.

  • Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment Advisory Board

    An independent non-governmental public body on the Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment (WEEE) Regulations. Consists of individuals from various industry sectors and provides independent advice for the development of the WEEE system.

  • Yorkshire Forward (RDA)

    Yorkshire Forward is the regional development agency for the Yorkshire & Humber region. Its goal is to make Yorkshire & Humber a better place to live, work and invest, and to ensure that our region is able to compete on the domestic and global stage.

Back to top